1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What is the best CPU for games like CIV4?

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Ariminio, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. Ariminio

    Ariminio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hannover, Germany
    I will buy a new computer soon, and I am wondering what CPU to chose. I only need high performance for games, but not 3D shooters, but games like Civ4, for which the CPU is most important, turn times and such.
    So I am wondering what to chose, in general it seems that Phenoms are the best price for power, but I looked at tomshardware Fritz 11 chess tests (how relevant would that even be for civ4?), and the I7 Intels are like 20% better there for only 100$ more.
    Or are these both useless for Civ4 and better buy some dual core?



    PS: Isnt it crazy that I buy a computer for a five year old game.

    The tomshardware chess test:

    http://www.tomshardware.de/charts/desktop-cpu-charts-2009-update-1/Fritz-11,1406.html
     
  2. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    I dont trust THG much anymore.

    A quad-core is useless for Civ 4, but it may be useful for 5. The Core i7/i5 range is pretty high up there in terms of performance, but they also carry a premium on the motherboards and memory. Remember, you can't just plop a cpu into any motherboard, you need to have one with the proper socket. LGA1366 and 1156 motherboards are generally more expensive than AM3 ones
     
  3. Murky

    Murky Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,216
    Location:
    The Milky Way Galaxy
    http://www.2kgames.com/civ4/support_msr.htm

     
  4. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    A faster single-core will work better then a slower muti-core for Civ4. I would get a muti-core for the future though.
     
  5. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    You cannot get a fast single-core processor anymore, they just don't exist. I would never recommend anything below a dual-core either.
     
  6. Murky

    Murky Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,216
    Location:
    The Milky Way Galaxy
  7. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,392
    Location:
    Canada
  8. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    If you want to be 4 years behind the curve maybe. But no, a 2ghz C2D is more powerful than that P4.
    There is no support for that processor and you cannot find a decent motherboard for Socket 478 anymore as it is beyond EoL.

    Its as good as saying it does not exist.
     
  9. Murky

    Murky Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,216
    Location:
    The Milky Way Galaxy
    What if you already have a socket 478 mb but have a slower processor?
     
  10. Perfection

    Perfection The Great Head.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    49,800
    Location:
    Salisbury Plain
    Any new computer that isn't powered by like a frickin' atom should do it.
     
  11. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,392
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, the best 478 processor released was the Celeron D 350, and as it goes for $20, it could be a decent upgrade.
     
  12. Macha

    Macha King

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Ireland
    Any new computer will be able to handle it, though I'd advise against a netbook as they have small, often non-standard resolutions that'll make life difficult.

    As for Atom processors, a 1.6Ghz Atom would leave a 1.2Ghz P4 in the dust. (and probably a 1.8Ghz P4 as well), so although I wouldn't reccomend it to be played on any machine likely to include an Atom, it won't provide a problem.
     
  13. Perfection

    Perfection The Great Head.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    49,800
    Location:
    Salisbury Plain
    Well, I'm sure the atom could run it, but it'd probably not run with all the fancy bells and whistles.
     
  14. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    You're fighting a losing battle if you're trying to upgrade that.
     
  15. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    for Civ IV? something with Core clockage above 3 GHz, something above 4 GHz is good
    maybe a Pentium D 805 if you can get one with matching motherboard (overclockage up to 4.1GHz)
    you'd need watercooling though, but it's dual core

    or you might go X2 3800+
     
  16. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    Personally I would choose a CPU that is able to run CIV4
     
  17. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,392
    Location:
    Canada
    No, a Core 2 Duo at ~2.4GHz is going to be faster than a Pentium D at 4GHz.
     
  18. Ariminio

    Ariminio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hannover, Germany
    Guys, I'm not wondering about being able to handle Civ4 at all, I'm wondering what the best processor is for Civ4 with HUGE maps and 20 AIs. Not just being able to run it, I can do that now, but being able to run it like playable, with 2 secs turn times. Are these processors able to do that? Does the I7 make a difference over the Phenom in that regard?


    Or are 3s turn times a dream for which civ4 is just too enormously programmed for, maybe with computers 10 years from now?
     
  19. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    The Civ4 engine is very inefficient so you will not have very fast turn times with that many Civs.
     
  20. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,392
    Location:
    Canada
    I dunno, close to 2 seconds doesn't seem unreasonable with a top of the line i7. My 5 year-old Athlon X2 does 18-civ huge map turns in ~10 seconds, and from the top of my head, a 3 GHz i7 should be close to 3x faster per core.
     

Share This Page