What is the largest city you have ever built?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by RobertN18, Oct 22, 2006.

  1. RobertN18

    RobertN18 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    I know it is not always tactically a good move to go for huge cities, but it is interesting to see how big you can get them.

    I once got my Capital City up to population 26 (difficulty Noble) without consciously trying to make it bigger. What is the theoretical maximum if all the nearby improvements were farms, and how big have you managed to get your cities?

    Another unrelated question - if you build a city directly over a resource (e.g. oil) do you automatically get access to that resource as soon as you discover it, without having to build improvements?
     
  2. Xtream_Rockstar

    Xtream_Rockstar THE D IS BACK

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    In a Box near Las vegas
    welcome to the boards dude
    okay ive seen a city gone up to a lvl 48 on the fourms try and find a person named kylean and clik on his epic reports

    im pretty sure you get the bouness if u buid over
     
  3. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    1. I have no idea. Probably in the 20's
    2. :yup:, as long as you could build the improvement, not that you'd need to. (e.g. Even if you have a city directly on oil, you couldn't just magically suck it out of the ground. You'd have to have combustion first, and the city will automatically build an invisible well in the cener of your city! :D)
     
  4. ShannonCT

    ShannonCT Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    Connecticut
    There is not really any theoretical maximum city population. Settling Great Merchants in your city gives you +1 food, and there is no theoretical maximum for the number you can get (ok, maybe there is ... the number of turns in the game would limit the number of GPs). Building the Globe Theater eliminates all unhappiness from a city. And if you get enough Future Techs, health ceases to be a limiting factor. If there is a theoretical max, it's over 250.
     
  5. RobertN18

    RobertN18 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks guys. I shall have to try it sometime just for fun: see if I can get over, say, 40 population.
     
  6. CruddyLeper

    CruddyLeper Unworshipped Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,648
    Location:
    UK
    I once worker dogpiled a city up to over 70, just for the sheer hell of it. Civ 3 of course.

    Just add workers. You only lose one pop per turn, so if you have another city building 1 worker per turn you can maintain it.

    Big cities are a dumb idea, by the way. Very hard to maintain happiness.
     
  7. s.c.dude

    s.c.dude Invading N.C.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    870
    Location:
    SC. Dude.
    you cant add workers in civ4:p
    and big cities arent a dumb idea. gp farm dont you know;)
     
  8. Galileo44

    Galileo44 Great Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    535
    Location:
    Connecticut
  9. drkodos

    drkodos Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,861
    Location:
    Renting-a-tent

    If each population point eats two food, that would put a hard cap on population limit, even with Merchants generating 1 food? :confused:
     
  10. Antilogic

    Antilogic --

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,602
    No, because the number of Great Merchants you can have in a city is unlimited. You just need two per citizen. And that link doesn't work for me...I want to see this city, though.
     
  11. ShannonCT

    ShannonCT Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Settled Great Merchants dont count as population. I'm not talking about merchant specialists, which just give gold and are counted as members of your population.

    Here's the corrected link:
    http://www.compoundeye.net/civ/epic03/part4.html
     
  12. drkodos

    drkodos Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,861
    Location:
    Renting-a-tent

    Got it. :thumbsup:
     
  13. Bungholio

    Bungholio Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    About 27, but in Civ3, I once got a city to 32 without starving it.
     
  14. automator

    automator King

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Northwest USA
    I once had a super city without any Great Merchants. I'd captured Thebes with an axe rush, eliminating Egypt around 1800BC. To my luck, the city had, within its fat X, three clams, two fish, one crab. The land tiles included forested grasslands and plains/hills.

    By end game, Thebes was my champion city for commerce and science, and was my second best production city (churning out a MA every turn). It was population level 32.
     
  15. QwertyKeyboard

    QwertyKeyboard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    After installing that mod that gives allows workers to work to up to level 3 culture, I had 53. This was on the Huge Europe map, as England, where London is. I filled it with farms. (This was post biology)

    Theoretically, with the culture level 3 mod, and with an unlimited amount of future techs, and no merchants, it's 181 maximum. After biology you can produce up to 10 food on a single tile, if you did that on everyone of the 36 tiles, and you got the 2 from the tile the city is on, that's 362 total food, divided by 2 is 181.

    Without the 3 culture mod, then the max is 202 food, or 101 population.
     
  16. ShannonCT

    ShannonCT Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Is it really 10? I thought the max was 8 for irrigated corn on flood plains post Biology. Are you refering to a grassland floodplain? Do these exist outside of Worldbuilder?
     
  17. scottcstoness

    scottcstoness Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Groton, CT
    AFter reading a similar thread a few months ago, I got a city up to size 53, with time, food and health for it to grow to 55. Pictured below.

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/90428/psychocity.JPG

    I played on Settler, Epic, with Peter who is Exp (for health) and Phi (for more great merchants. Note the 28 great merchant specialists. Also, I was getting
    460 GPP per turn, and the next GP would come at 12,000 GPP, or in about 25 turns; since it was 1841, there was lots of time yet to make the city bigger, but I got kind of bored :)

    ScS
     
  18. QwertyKeyboard

    QwertyKeyboard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    I am talking about grassland, oasis, wheat, farm. These don't exist outside of world builder. But when there's a food resource on the flood plains that's being farmed, I believe it cancles out the effect of the flood plain (atleast it does with grassland flood plains). However if corn gives 1 more over wheat, it might be 11.
     
  19. Antilogic

    Antilogic --

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,602
    If they don't exist outside of World Builder, then I think that involves a little cheating, unless you get ridiculously lucky on Fantasy Realm.
     
  20. Thedrin

    Thedrin Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,650
    Location:
    London
    I have a thing for cities with massive trade route incomes so I looked at the image hoping to see something like 70+ commerce per turn from trade routes. Initially I was dissapointed. Then I realised they were all domestic. :eek:
     

Share This Page