What kind of laptop should I get?

MagisterCultuum

Great Sage
The HP Pavillion dv6-2088dx that I have been using since December 2009 recently died. (Luckily, I backed up every file I care about on an external hard drive the night before it crashed.) Apparently the integrated video card overheated enough to melt the solder holding it to the motherboard and caused enough damage to require replacing the motherboard as a whole. (The guy as the shop where I took it for a free diagnostic said that the model had a design flaw where the solder melted at an unusually low temperature.) At it would cost at least $245+tax to fix it, I figure I'm better off getting a new one. It might be a different story if

Currently I am typing on my previous laptop, the Toshiba Satelite P106 that I got back in 2006 before starting college. I got the HP because the screen on this machine was slowly failing. I thought it would be dead by now, but actually has not changed much in the past 2 years. Still, its screen is rather dim and has an inch on the right that is pure black, 2 inches next to that that display things pale a blurry, and about 125 vertical lines of random colors that are rather distracting. It handled Civ IV fine when it was new (despite saying it was below recommendations), but these days struggles on even the smallest maps.

I would like to purchase a new machine soon, but am on a tight budget. My last two laptops were Graduation or Christmas presents, but this one I will have to pay for myself. My current savings total almost exactly $400. I also have a $20 gift card to Best Buy, and have convinced mom to chip in $50 as an Easter present. As I am currently living at home I have no other expenses, but as I am still looking for work I also have no source of income.