What mod is good

BobeBrown

Warlord
Hello, I started playing civilization again after couple years since CivIII.

I very bored with the game again and need more things to spice it up! I want something that adds more features to game, I dont want to play a mod that adds a lots of new units that are not really needed. I dont want mod that lags and very slow to play. Also dont want a mod that changes too much that its totally different game!

Forgive this, maybe the 100th thread about mods but its really hard to know what is what in the download center. There is no section that gives reviews about mods and says which ones are good and not.

Can anyone make suggestions of what mods are good and which to avoid maybe?

I want to know this, too. A mod that is simple to install, can be used in multiplayer, and doesn't ruin the game. Just adds to it. Something like NextWar, but even more. (Not saying future only, just stuff like that.)

Whatever else you do, you must definitely get the BUG mod. This doesn't change gameplay at all, it just has loads and loads of interface improvements. It's so good, I just can't play the game without it now.

Better AI is another good one, and does exactly what it says. Many fixes that were first done in Better AI have since made their way into the official patches, so that shows how good they are. I do find that the improved AI slows the game down a little though, but I think it's worth it, a more dangerous AI makes the game more fun.

I personally love the Quot Capita mod, which includes both of the above, but also includes loads of extra content, so may not be what you are looking for.