1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What the new patch has wrecked/changed

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by Zen Blade, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. Zen Blade

    Zen Blade Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    I thought it might be nice to compile a list of things that modders come across.
    I will be checking my mod this evening with the new patch.

    If you find anything, please add here (the problem and the fix).

    If there is a better thread/place for this, please let me know.

    -Zen Blade
     
  2. alpaca

    alpaca King of Ungulates

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,322
    The most important one is probably that the SetScriptData and GetScriptData function have been removed so that all mods which save custom script data will cease to work until we find out (or are told) how to store data now.
     
  3. Ajidica

    Ajidica High Quality Person

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    20,081
    Does the new patch affect civ related things?
    Given that I saw no mention of anything civ related in the patch log, I can only assume nothing has changed. Just want to confirm though.
     
  4. Spatzimaus

    Spatzimaus Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,063
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Define "civ related". A TON of stuff was changed; for instance, over in the General Discussions forum, there's a debate going on how Siam is now, by far, the strongest civ to play for two reasons:
    > The Wat has an extra Scientist slot compared to the University, and now that the Library has had its slots removed, those become very important.
    > Their knight UU had a +30% bonus versus cities. It still does. But what it DOESN'T have is the new -33% penalty versus cities that other horse units have, so now it's twice as good against cities as the vanilla knight (130% vs 66%).

    So there'll be a lot of those sorts of little things. Even if a civ wasn't explicitly changed, a lot of other changes can skew the balance. Or a different example: there are new Natural Wonders, one of which gives 500gp to the first civ to find it. Obviously, this favors the player, and to a lesser extent AI civs that emphasize exploration.

    To the original topic, I'd love to be able to tell you a list of broken things, but I can't, because I can't run my mod at all (and I stopped playing vanilla a LONG time ago). Among other things, it just won't load the icon atlas files any more. I'll try debugging this tonight, but it's a pretty crippling issue for large-scale mods.
     
  5. Ajidica

    Ajidica High Quality Person

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    20,081
    Well, I mean formatting wise. Is the civ XML structuraly different then it was in the last patch?
    Basicaly I'm trying to figure out whether I have to change anything in the civs I made.

    Wait, if it won't load the icon atlases, then any new flags or such won't load? ****. More work for me.
     
  6. Spatzimaus

    Spatzimaus Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,063
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I can't claim that it does this for anyone else; no one else has reported this problem yet. But for whatever reason, yes, it won't load icon atlases. My mod adds new techs, buildings, etc., and none of the icons will load. (I get the "can't read whatever.dds" error message, even though it worked fine pre-patch.)

    While I won't claim that the same bugs will happen to everyone else, it's sounding like they changed so many things internally that it's practically guaranteed that each person will find SOME bugged part. The timing of this patch is really unfortunate, because it means that many (most?) large mods will be nonfunctional over Christmas break, as the modders go on vacation before they've had time to fix all of the things the patch broke. Not the sort of thing you want as a selling point when you're convincing people to buy the game for Christmas...
     
  7. BomberEscort

    BomberEscort Don't be alarmed; this is a kindness Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Updates for Civ5Units.xml
    Nuclear Missile now range 12 and now requires individual Manhattan Project
    Stealth Bomber changed to SPECIALUNIT_STEALTH

    Default AI set to UNITAI_FAST_ATTACK
    Modern Armor, Helicopter Gunship, Tank, Panzer, All Mounted Units

    Cavalry/Cossack/Lancer/Sipahi obsolete at Combustion
    Atomic Bomb/Nuclear Missile now requires individual Manhattan Project

    Arabia CamelArcher default AI set to UNITAI_RANGED

    Goody Hut upgrades Lancer/Sipahi to Anti-Tank Gun
    Cavalry/Cossack upgrades to Tank
    Sipahi/Lancer upgrades to Anti-Tank Gun
    Bomber/B17 upgrades to Stealth Bomber

    Trebuchet ranged combat strength is now 16 (was 20)
    Catapult ranged combat strength is now 11 (was 14)
    Ballista ranged combat strength is now 14 (was 18)
    Horseman combat strength is now 10 (was 12)
    Companion Cavalry combat strength is now 12 (was 14)

    Settler FLAVOR_EXPANSION now 21 (was 20)
    Legion FLAVOR_OFFENSE now 10 (was 15)
    Catapult FLAVOR_OFFENSE now 4 (was 2)
    Catapult FLAVOR_DEFENSE now 4 (was 2)
    Catapult FLAVOR_RANGED now 7 (was 12)
    Catapult FLAVOR_RANGED now 16 (was 15)
    FLAVOR_ANTIAIR Added
    Anti Aircraft Gun FLAVOR_ANTIAIR now 25
    Paratrooper FAVOR_MOBILE removed
    Paratrooper FAVOR_AIR now 3
    Fighter FAVOR_AIR now 12 (was 6)
    Fighter FAVOR_ANTIAIR now 6
    Bomber FAVOR_AIR now 12 (was 8)
    FLAVOR_NUKE Added
    Atomic Bomber FLAVOR_NUKE now 16
    Atomic Bomber FLAVOR_AIR now 8
    Atomic Bomber FLAVOR_RANGED removed
    Helicopter Gunship FLAVOR_AIR now 12 (was 9)
    Mobile SAM FLAVOR_DEFENSE now 6 (was 12)
    Mobile SAM FLAVOR_ANTIAIR now 25
    Jet Fighter FAVOR_AIR now 20 (was 9)
    Jet Fighter FAVOR_ANTIAIR now 5
    Stealth Bomber FAVOR_AIR now 20 (was 10)
    Nuclear Missile FLAVOR_DEFENSE now 8 (was 12)
    Nuclear Missile FLAVOR_NUKE now 24
    Nuclear Missile FLAVOR_RANGED removed
    Caravel FLAVOR_NAVAL_RECON now 10 (was 5)
    Ship of the Line FLAVOR_NAVAL_RECON now 4 (was FLAVOR_NAVAL)
    Carrier FAVOR_AIR now 4 (was 8)
    Nuclear Submarine FAVOR_DEFENSE now 5 (was 7)
    Nuclear Submarine FAVOR_NUKE now 8

    Units with PROMOTION_SMALL_CITY_PENALTY (-25% City Attack)
    Archer, Barbarian Archer, Chariot Archer, War Chariot
    Indian Elephant, Camel Archer, Siamese Elephant
    Crossbowman, Chukonu, Longbowman
    Horseman, Knight, Lancer, Sipahi, Cavalry ,Cossack
    Companion Cavalry

    Catapult/Ballista/Trebuchet now has PROMOTION_CITY_ASSAULT

    Mobile SAM no longer requires RESOURCE_ALUMINUM

    Updates for Civ5UnitPromotions.xml
    EmbarkedNotCivilian added
    EnemyDamageChance added
    NeutralDamageChance added
    ExtraWithdrawal added

    PROMOTION_DEFENSIVE_EMBARKATION added
    PROMOTION_ADJACENT_BONUS changed to +10% (was +15%)
    PROMOTION_CITY_PENALTY changed to -33% (was -40%) and is now LostWithUpgrade
    PROMOTION_SMALL_CITY_PENALTY added now -25% when attacking city
    PROMOTION_MUST_SET_UP now LostWithUpgrade
    PROMOTION_FASTER_HEAL can no longer be chosen

    Updates for GlobalDefines.xml
    CITY_GROWTH_MULTIPLIER now 8 (was 6)
    CITY_GROWTH_EXPONENT now 1.5 (was 1.8)
    SUPER_UNHAPPY_THRESHOLD added and set to -20
    REVOLT_COUNTER_MIN added and set to 4
    REVOLT_COUNTER_POSSIBLE added and set to 3
    REVOLT_NUM_BASE added and set to 100
    REVOLT_NUM_CITY_COUNT added and set to 20
    Great Generals now provide 20% bonus (was 25%)
    Bonus per Adjacent Friend is now 10% (was 15%)
    NAVAL_COMBAT_DEFENDER_STRENGTH_MULTIPLIER now 40 (was 100)
    GOLDEN_AGE_THRESHOLD_CITY_MULTIPLIER added and set to 0.01
    GOLDEN_AGE_EACH_GA_ADDITIONAL_HAPPINESS now 250 (was 500)
    SETTLER_HAPPINESS_MULTIPLIER now 8 (was 6)
    SETTLER_RESOURCE_MULTIPLIER now 3 (was 1)
    SETTLER_EVALUATION_DISTANCE now 20 (was 12)
    SETTLER_DISTANCE_DROPOFF_MODIFIER now 75 (was 99)
    CHOKEPOINT_STRATEGIC_VALUE now 3 (was 5)
    HILL_STRATEGIC_VALUE now 2 (was 3)

    MAX_CITY_HIT_POINTS now 25 (was 20)
    CITY_HIT_POINTS_HEALED_PER_TURN now 2 (was 1)
    FLAT_LAND_EXTRA_DEFENSE now -10 (was -33)
    RANGE_ATTACK_SAME_STRENGTH_MIN_DAMAGE now 200 (was 250)
    RANGE_ATTACK_SAME_STRENGTH_POSSIBLE_EXTRA_DAMAGE now 400 (was 300)
    CITY_STRENGTH_TECH_EXPONENT now 2.0 (was 1.8)
    CULTURE_COST_FIRST_PLOT now 15 (was 20)
    CULTURE_PLOT_COST_MOD_MINIMUM now -85 (was -75)
    PLOT_INFLUENCE_NW_COST added and set to -105
    SCORE_CITY_MULTIPLIER now 8 (was 10)
    SCORE_POPULATION_MULTIPLIER now 4 (was 3)
    SCORE_WONDER_MULTIPLIER now 25 (was 40)

    WITHDRAW_MOD_ENEMY_MOVES added and set to -20
    WITHDRAW_MOD_BLOCKED_TILE added and set to -20
    ALLOW_EXTENDED_PLAY added and set to 1

    64 Individual XML files were changed for this patch. If your MODs change any of these XML files, it would be prudent to re-examine them...

    Spoiler :
    Code:
    Filename	Differences
    CIV5AICityStrategies.xml	15
    CIV5AIEconomicStrategies.xml	18
    CIV5AIGrandStrategies.xml	2
    CIV5AIMilitaryStrategies.xml	21
    CIV5CitySpecializations.xml	9
    CIV5TacticalMoves.xml	5
    GlobalAIDefines.xml	22
    GlobalDiplomacyAIDefines.xml	6
    CIV5UnitAIInfos.xml	1
    CIV5BuildingClasses.xml	1
    CIV5Buildings.xml	66
    CIV5MinorCivilizations.xml	64
    CIV5Traits.xml	5
    Civ5Diplomacy_Responses.xml	13
    CIV5Flavors.xml	3
    CIV5GameOptions.xml	1
    CIV5IconTextureAtlases.xml	2
    CIV5Policies.xml	79
    CIV5Projects.xml	3
    CIV5Leader_Alexander.xml	7
    CIV5Leader_Askia.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Augustus.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Barbarian.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Bismark.xml	3
    CIV5Leader_Catherine.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Darius.xml	4
    CIV5Leader_Elizabeth.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Gandhi.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_HarunAlRashid.xml	3
    CIV5Leader_Hiawatha.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Montezuma.xml	11
    CIV5Leader_Napoleon.xml	6
    CIV5Leader_OdaNobunaga.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Ramesses.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Ramkhamhaeng.xml	4
    CIV5Leader_Suleiman.xml	2
    CIV5Leader_Washington.xml	3
    CIV5Leader_WuZetian.xml	2
    CIV5LeaderTables.xml	5
    Notifications.xml	6
    Civ5_Dialog__GENERIC.xml	17
    CIV5GameTextInfos.xml	8
    CIV5GameTextInfos2.xml	4
    CIV5GameTextInfos_Advisors.xml	1
    CIV5GameTextInfos_Buildings.xml	1
    CIV5GameTextInfos_Civilizations.xml	4
    CIV5GameTextInfos_Civilopedia.xml	26
    CIV5GameTextInfos_DLC.xml	1
    CIV5GameTextInfos_FrontEndScreens.xml	1
    CIV5GameTextInfos_InGameScreens.xml	9
    CIV5GameTextInfos_Jon.xml	39
    CIV5GameTextInfos_Objects.xml	1
    CIV5GameTextInfos_Units.xml	4
    CIV5GameTextInfos_WorldView.xml	2
    CIV5Technologies.xml	78
    CIV5Features.xml	30
    CIV5Improvements.xml	4
    Civ5AnimationCategories.xml	2
    Civ5AnimationPaths.xml	1
    CIV5MultiUnitFormations.xml	11
    CIV5SpecialUnits.xml	1
    CIV5UnitPromotions.xml	13
    CIV5Units.xml	112
    GlobalDefines.xml	35
    [/SPOILER]
     
  8. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    Reported++
     
  9. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    No breaking for CSD2...perhaps cross-compare files to see differences? I add units and buildings (no techs).
    G
     
  10. Garett20

    Garett20 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Toronto,Canada
    So does reload landmarks work now?
     
  11. Zen Blade

    Zen Blade Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    My Civ Desc text entries do not seem to be working I get
    "TXT_KEY_CIV_ODA_DESC"
    and "TXT_KEY_CIV5_ODA_TEXT_1" when loading.

    Actually, it looks like all of my text entries are having problems... so, my guess is they changed something about text file locations or something...
    Well, not all. My social policies seem to be fine. It appears to be civ-related txt entries.

    Same with my new buildings the names are now "TXT...."
    However, my new units are fine.
     
  12. Zen Blade

    Zen Blade Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Oh... and a Crash to desktop...
     
  13. Spatzimaus

    Spatzimaus Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,063
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    One one hand, it could be something as simple as the specific DDS format. I was using DXT5 compression, I think, so it's possible that it can only handle DXT3 now or something.
    On the other hand, it could just be that something changed in the XML file; I notice that CIV5IconTextureAtlases.xml had a couple lines change. So I'll check when I get home to see if there's any new incompatibility there, something it's expecting to see in the tables now.
    On the gripping hand, it could be a Lua problem, where I've edited several of the UI files (like the one that puts the graphics on the buttons); if it's failing to load those icon-related UI scripts, maybe it aborts the whole icon atlas logic.

    Seriously, this is just really annoying; we're going to have to go through every single file we edited to ensure things aren't broken by the changes, and in the case of modifications to existing Lua, it's probably easier to rebuild the mods from scratch. (I am NOT looking forward to re-editing AssignStartingPlots for my own mod. That thing took forever to get right. And I'm sure it was edited in this patch.)
     
  14. Ajidica

    Ajidica High Quality Person

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    20,081
    I didn't have any issue with missing icons, but missing TXT tags is an issue.
     
  15. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    -Having the same issue with icons not loading and getting the ".dds file not found" message.

    -The patch actually somehow changed values/wording in .xml files that I created. My custom Tech tree didn't work until I dug around, found the new wording/values, and corrected them.

    -any text I added to buildings/units = gone.

    -any Units/Buildings I added = gone.

    It would have been nice to get a specific list of not just .xml changes, but also changes done to any .lua files as all my .lua changes are also not functioning anymore. Digging through thousands of lines of code is not going to be fun. For a CIV that was touted as being the most moddable CIV ever, this feels like a slap in the face.
     
  16. Zen Blade

    Zen Blade Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Mark, are you serious??

    Your mod files were overwritten? Or, what are you saying?
    My unit texts were not harmed, but my building+civ texts were. However, all of those items appear in game (until the game crashes to desktop a turn later).
     
  17. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    InGameUIAddin doesn't appear to be working anymore. I'm getting this error:

    Runtime Error: [string "Assets/UI/InGame/InGame.lua"]:1063: attempt to index local 'addinFile' (a nil value)
    Runtime Error: Error loading Assets/UI/InGame/InGame.lua.


    Line 1063 looks like this:

    local addinFile = Modding.GetEvaluatedFilePath(addin.ModID, addin.Version, addin.File);

    I checked all the components for that (addin.ModID, etc.) for my mod and they look OK, GetEvaluatedFilePath() is just sending back a nil string. It might have something to do with the new format of the mod properties file and the "import=1" parameter that is magically showing up now.

    The Set and GetScriptData functions disappearing is really frustrating.
     
  18. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    pfft, I post something complaining and I figure it out not 30 seconds later. :rolleyes:

    I had my InfoAddictInit.lua file loading as an InGameUIAddin file but, originally, it was just loading in as "InfoAddictInit.lua". It sits in a folder called Lua and, when I changed the InGameUIAddin parameter to "Lua/InfoAddictInit.lua" it started working.
     
  19. Slowpoke

    Slowpoke The Mad Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,321
    apparently buildings now have two types of happiness, wonder-type happiness and normal happiness. So if you buffed a happiness wonder, you will now have BOTH happiness until you fix the xml.

    Edit: GOD assignstarting plots is broke now. I'm going to go nuts trying to find out what's changed... that file was huge

    Edit Edit: Ah it's probably just the new natural wonders.
     
  20. blitzkrieg80

    blitzkrieg80 ðrymes ðēoden

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    707
    Bomber escort- thank you for that list! very helpful.

    FYI- I noticed with the recent patch, that they changed the attributes naming in the Leaders table... the WorkAgainst / Willingness is now named:

    <DenounceWillingness>6</DenounceWillingness>
    <DoFWillingness>6</DoFWillingness>


    2 fixes I have encounted (on the topic of new errors from the patch)...


    -I was getting errors on my NewText/EN_US city-entries... and i fixed them by removing my <Add Row> for Bergen and Belfast (for my Norse and Gaelic civs), because Firaxis added these cities to the new file (so there is no need for the Add) even though they are not used anywhere (like a lot of the useless city entries in that file). What a stupid reason to break my mod, but oh well, Firaxis loves to waste time on city text entries for civilizations they are not including


    -another error source (.dds error might be common for you guys?)

    I discovered that my new .dds errors were because the new verison of Modbuddy with the patch, which now adds a 'Property' (bottom right for most people) on files / art, Import into VFS , which you change to true, so all one needs to do to fix prevously working custom art (in this case), is to change your previously 'taken for granted' associations of your art with your mod- and make it explicit rather than implicit


    still getting an error on the database.log:
    "Failure to check references for foreign key Units(CivilianAttackPriority).
    no such table: CivilianAttackPriority"

    but this seems like it is all on Firaxis
     

Share This Page