1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What was your favorite job?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by civvver, Nov 21, 2019.

1. civvver

civvver Deity

Paying or non paying, employment or volunteering, what was the favorite job you've held?

I've only had three regular jobs (I've done side jobs like mow a couple neighbor's yards and babysat a few times), I worked at a flower shop in high school/college for five years, I tiled pools around the same timeframe for three summers, and the job I currently have I started as a software developer intern my sophomore year of college and have been working here ever since, over 16 years now.

Installing pools was the most fun. It was pretty grueling work, out in the sun all day, we never took lunch breaks cus my boss was kind of weird and thought eating just made us sleepy in the afternoons. We'd start at 5 or 6am, drive to the site by 7am, work til 7-8pm cus you only had summer to get it done. When I say tiled pools we installed the bricks that go around the sides too. I had to carry 50 lb buckets of sand and mix them with 80 lb buckets of mortar mix by hand with a hoe in a big bin, probably 2-3 times per job. That part sucked.

But what I liked about it was I was young, 18-21 when I did this job, and the physical labor was kind of fun, got me in shape, got a good tan, it was nice being outside. But mostly, even though we worked really hard, we joked around all day. It was sometimes just me an the owner who was only a few years older than me, other times it was us and one or two more guys, some of them my friends. So we'd just crack jokes all day and listen to sports talk radio or cheesy music like bon jovi or kenny chesney (I told you my boss was weird and that trickled down to his taste in music).