1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What's the largest city you grew?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by anandus, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. sun8119

    sun8119 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Standard game, continents, G&K last turn 306 science victory, Tradition tree as a starter and some food growth benefits from religion.

    Palenque 50, obviously could have been bigger with more grassland hexes around :)

    Total population ~140mil at the end of game.

    Spoiler :


     

    Attached Files:

  2. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    Venice at fifty-five or so. I can't remember exactly because it was growing every three to five turns even in the late game. Food caravans, you rock.
     
  3. Kemi

    Kemi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Played Monti yesterday in standard bnw without mods and tried to get my capital as big as possible.

    When I eventually won, it got up to 90 at around 2000 AD with basically all farms, artemis, growth religion and 8 land food trade routes.
     
  4. luke12

    luke12 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I have grown a city to size 60 and beyond but had over 20+ cities to help do it
     
  5. bevelnator

    bevelnator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    67
  6. Deau

    Deau Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Quebec, Can
    Pop 52 T246 OCC SV in GnK(Korea). It's quite possible to achieve more now with internal trade routes but there's hardly a point beyond pop50 where you work all tiles and all specialists. It's actually becoming detrimental since the citizens no longer get the secularism bonus and I don't think the Statue of Liberty contributes to their hammer yield anymore either.
     
  7. jlim201

    jlim201 King

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Somewhere North of the South Pole
    My recent game as Venice= half of trade routes sending food to Venice starting in the Industrail. Venice=62 pop. Standard Pace, turn 392 Diplo Victory.
     
  8. holywar

    holywar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Texas
    At least 38 with India. I don't think I've ever hit 40.
     
  9. holywar

    holywar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Texas
    I see how you did that. You had a lot of salt. Salt is awesome - mine hammers + 4 food.
     
  10. charon2112

    charon2112 King

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    990
    Location:
    Massachusetts USA
    Probably a dumb question, but where are your units?
     
  11. Benmorris111

    Benmorris111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Got a lake-heavy start with Aztecs, got size 63 Tenochtitlan.
     
  12. Lorf Yimzo

    Lorf Yimzo Atheist

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Empire of Colorado
    I think today I'm gonna use IGE w/ Spain and surround my city with Lake Victorias. Might as well cheat in Hanging Gardens, Floating Gardens, and all the other food buildings at the beginning of the game. Might put in a Solomon's mines or 2 for production and a Mt. Sinai for faith. Yup, legitimacy.
     
  13. charon2112

    charon2112 King

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    990
    Location:
    Massachusetts USA
    Is there a 'bare map' toggle button that removes units?
     
  14. Talcove

    Talcove Slayer of Spies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Mississauga
    It was ~60ish. I was the Inca, went tradition, got both the Temple of Artemis, and the Hanging Gardens, food trade routes to my capitol, AND had a bunch of good spots for my terrace farms.

    I remember this one guy posting a picture of him playing as Venice, using all 18 of his trade routes to send food to his capitol. He had a 109 population city!

    Spoiler :
     
  15. whyidie

    whyidie Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,171
    Only 4,000 BPT at T351 ? Weak.
     
  16. GoStu

    GoStu King

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    656
    Location:
    Calgary
    I'm trying to picture what was going on in Venice for the citizens. It's some combination of non-stop orgy that refuels every time another cargo ship drops off another load of food.

    You're welcome for that mental image.
     
  17. Hoplite191

    Hoplite191 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Got 65 citizens in Delhi before I got bored. But that was a one-city challenge.
     
  18. Greizer85

    Greizer85 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Can't really blame them as half of them are unemployed... At least there's *something* productive for them to do! :D
     
  19. MCHones

    MCHones Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I got my capital up to 70 once. Playing as Egypt with Brave New World. Ended up with a total population of 302M+
     

    Attached Files:

  20. lokithepunishr

    lokithepunishr Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    That place West of Japan
    Sorry I just looked at the last page of this thread but cities of 30-40 shouldn't be considered in this thread. 50+ should really be the min. Between internal trade routes and maritime CS you can get 40+ within 300 turns without a problem, more if you can get coastal trade routes going.

    I was playing a co-op MP game with my friend last week and had Amsterdam (with 0 polders) at size 40 by turn 310. With Aztecs and a good lake start I've had size 50 within 250 turns (but maybe thats unfair since aztecs gets +4 food lake tiles before civil service).

    I'm sure there was a post a while ago about some guy who had Venice at size 100+ on archipelago map because of extra trade routes.

    Edit: Sorry Aparrently I didn't read the last page, just clicked on page 10 :(
     

Share This Page