1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What's up with China?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by RedRover57, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. Solver

    Solver Civ4/5 beta tester

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    Doesn't seem like all the situations described here are the same.

    In the game Rince posted, Arabia is acting silly because it wants a Cultural victory. The AI knows that smaller civs are better for a cultural victory, so it wants to remain small, but this being a Tiny map, the AI underestimates how many cities it needs and feels happy sitting there with just 1.

    This is bad logic by the AI but I feel that situations like the one TPQ posted about are caused by something different, an uncommon bug of sorts.
     
  2. spfun

    spfun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    The culture flavor has simply got to go. Its quite annoying to play a standard Pangaea map with 8 nations where always a few AIs are totally incompetent due to the culture flavor.

    Strongest Ai flavor i ever saw was expansionist Persia who went 5 liberty 5 patronage allied with like 7 city states & teched out turbo styles. This was on king post patch, ive played 500 hours. I normally destroy emperor AI with OCC, but this AI Persia was challenging, i just wish i could have every AI like this.
     
  3. Rince

    Rince Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    In your city, poisoning your water!
    Ok, so it sounds like a scaling problem then. Thanks for looking into it. Hope it will help improve the AI.
     
  4. André Alfenaar

    André Alfenaar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    272
    I have seen various games in which the AI didn't expand fast enough. Also on a normal map. Even for a cultural city it is wise to have a couple of cities. 5 or so. More cities mean more expensive SP's, but at the same time they are producing more culture as well. So in the end a moderate expansion is pretty flat considering the number of turns for a SP.
     
  5. André Alfenaar

    André Alfenaar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    272
    Another problem is that the AI is often very lazy to improve the tiles.
     
  6. Solver

    Solver Civ4/5 beta tester

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    In the specific instance you posted, yes, that's a scaling problem. Definitely different from what some of the others are reporting, but it's definitely good info to have.
     
  7. NukeAJS

    NukeAJS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    766
    As far as there being few buildings in their capitol -- not all buildings are saved when they are captured. To test this -- have a city be captured several times. The buildings will become fewer and fewer.

    There does seem to be a minimum amount of turns after a city is captured where the buildings are "immune." This is probably because if a city kept getting captured every turn it'd wax all the buildings.

    As far as "lazy" civs. I've definitely noticed the AI either not building enough workers or simply ignoring resources. As far as the non-expansion, this might be feature. If the AI wants to win culturally, it'd make sense not to build too many cities.
     
  8. Skwink

    Skwink FRIIIIIIIIIITZ

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,647
    I seem to find China as my closest ally whenever I play with them.
     
  9. jojorah

    jojorah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    520
    Hi, wouldnt it get rid of the AI thinking for culture if one disabled the culture victory?
     
  10. AfterShafter

    AfterShafter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057
    Location:
    World's largest lentil producer
    One would think so, but you have to remember, they did rush the game out the door...
     
  11. Callonia

    Callonia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,175
    Naw with the latest patch, if I enable only domination, every single ai will try for a domination win.

    It actually had led to lots of wars, more than normal.

    With several powerhouses nuking their neighbors and taking over their land.

    And then, ai will start thinking i'm trying for the same victory condition as they are after i take over 2nd civ completely. It shows up in the red demerits xD
     
  12. ElWanderer

    ElWanderer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    In one of my games, under .167, when I started exploring the other continent in, ooh, roughly 1200AD, I found Catherine sitting there with just one one city. At first I thought it was the AI going for culture, but... my exploring units found not one but two settlers that had been captured by barbs. I returned one and kept one. A little later, I noticed that Catherine had gone all ICS and put seven new cities out. I think there was also a pillaged pasture she took centuries to fix.

    I suspect the AI was considering the captured units to belong to it, still, so it didn't consider training anymore. Just a guess, though.

    This was only my second game, so the difficulty was quite low. I can see if I can find some saves later if it would help.
     
  13. Ironmonger69

    Ironmonger69 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Goldsboro, NC, USA
    Had one recently where on an Archipelago map, after declaring war against the US, they bullrushed one of my allied CS deep within their waters. They alread had two knights on land, landed three musketmen and two pikemen within the next turn. They knocked the city's defenses down to 1hp, but never took it (I figured it was lost, took me three turns to get a destroyer on the scene.) Not only did all US units stop moving inexplicably, the CS stopped firing at the invaders. The rest of my fleet (6 battleships and one more destroyer) arrived on scene and set about wasting the interlopers. Bizarre (checked, all the autosaves have been overwritten.... sigh)
     

Share This Page