Whats your plan?

M

mikels

Hey there,
While I'm not particularly new to Civ2 i am new to this Game of the Month Concept. I just finished my first GOTM and, according to the advice on the GOTM home attempted to finish the game as soon as possible. This meant forgoing any sewersystems and the like in the quest for more units. Although i was not particularly successful at this and probably would not have a good score anyway, i had a quick look at some of the scores in the archive or results and some of the scores are so big that i was just wondering whether trying to finish off the game quickly really is the best way to go, or is it better to build 4000 cities and painstakingly farmland them allto improve your score?

Anyways looking forward to GOTM VI!

Well actually there is no best way to play the GotM - you get awarded if you finish the game quickly, but no matter how early you finish your GotM score is still very depended on how many point you got in the game!!!

A good thing for you to try is to download matrix excel file and check how you GotM score grows or declines! As a rule, you continue to play the game as long as your game score grows by more than one % per turn!

But of cause there are many ways to play the GotM - you can also go for the highest score or the fastest finish. It's all a matter of style and what goal you play to reach!!

Normally I play long games where I try to build my score up and still try to finish no later than 1800AD - but this month I tried to conquer the world ASAP and then build my score for some 20-30 turns before I took the last city - whether or not this tactic is a good one, remains to be seen.

------------------
We are species 8472 - assimilation attempts are futile - the weak shall perish

No wait we are species 5618 and we got beer...... don't harm us!!!!!!

Shadowdale,