1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

When do you think we'll see the first patch?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by Big Ev, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. Big Ev

    Big Ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Clearly there have been a good amount of technical issues, think we could see a point release in about 1 or 2 weeks?

    I would really like a Win x64 fix, but that's way down the list.
     
  2. qu1etus

    qu1etus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    There had better be one asap, like tomorrow.

    This is completely ridiculous.
     
  3. adams_antics

    adams_antics Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    i'll take bets on 2-3 weeks. since it's affecting almost the entire range of ATI cards, there's probably not a single ATI card within a mile of their office. They apparantly designed the entire game assuming it would work, and there could be dozens of complicated things to fix.

    OR scenario 2... from the info on my other post it may be as simple as ID'ing the cards correctly. that might be pretty simple to fix. i'll still take bets though.
     
  4. Big Ev

    Big Ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Any news on a potential release date for a patch?
     
  5. Big Ev

    Big Ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Any news on a potential release date for a patch?
     
  6. M4rek

    M4rek Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    same question
    answer plz :(
     
  7. Snarfy

    Snarfy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Since their QA department obviously hasn't got any memory leak checking software, give them 3 weeks to order that and get it delivered.

    Add another 4 weeks of training (they appear to be pretty slow) on the software, 2 weeks to actually find anything, 3 weeks to schedule a meeting with the developers... then 4 weeks for the developers to determine how to fix the problems, 3 weeks to actually make the fixes.

    Then send it back to QA where QA will take 3 weeks checking the fixes...

    Gives us a patch delivery date of 5 months from now.

    Happy travels.
     
  8. Zubyo

    Zubyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Amen dude

    I never saw that much trouble with a game in so little time
     
  9. flub

    flub Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    This has got to be one of the worst releases in gaming history.
     
  10. H0K135

    H0K135 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Hopefully they'll release one bigass patch in the next week or so because this is downright ridiculous.
     
  11. al_thor

    al_thor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Agreed. I've been gaming for like 10 years, and I have NEVER encountered such difficulties and HARD crashing.
    Runs great when it runs, but crashes without rhyme or reason. Grrrrrrrr!
     
  12. fjorner

    fjorner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Dude, this is nothing compared to Black Isle's Fallout 2. That game was unplayable on most systems for a month, and had major game-killing fumbles all over the place. Talk about rushed to production. In the end, six months later, was a great game. But after the original Fallout was release with near perfection, Fallout 2 was a colossal dissappointment.

    I don't know about you guys, but I never did get resolutions to some of my Civ III problems and it took me a while to fix the initial ones too.

    But really... this is probably something they are already aware of but didn't have time to fix before shipping. They've probably been working with vendors since a month ago on various problems. Its a matter of triage- what problems can we address immediately before release, what problems can wait, what problems aren't worth spending time on. Remember, lots of people CAN play the game, and that's the only thing they were aiming for with the initial release.

    Frustrating? Yes. Unethical? Probably not. Ensuring their software is top quality on initial release? Nope.
     
  13. H0K135

    H0K135 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    So shafting everyone with an ATi card is an bug that can wait? I certainly hope they don't think so.

    I would have rather had it delayed because of that (even if I had an Nvidia card) than have it shipped only supporting roughly half of the GPU chipsets on the market.
     
  14. Pushead

    Pushead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    I would figure a patch (most likely the second patch) right before Christmas. That way anyone who gets the game from Santa has something so they don't get frustrated.
     
  15. Paccali

    Paccali Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    This has nothing to do with triage. They moved the release date forward, and knowingly released a product before it was finished. This first patch isn't an "emergency patch" as the techies keep saying. Its the real version of the game that didn't come in the 50$ box we all purchased.

    It is very unethical. They sold an unfinished product, and they're making us wait on them to release the real game to us. I don't think Firaxis understands that they aren't a huge game company. Vivendi, EA, Sony, and Microsoft have the resorces to screw people around like this. Take Two games can't possibly afford to lose their specific fanbase. Only a select group of people play these games in the first place. It doesn't do well for business to shaft them. They should have beta tested this game. CivFanatic, Apolyton, GameFAQs, and many many other boards are littered with software bugs and poor coding issues.

    And the people responsible for this hang up on their customers and leave emails unanswered. They should count their blessings. Only by the fact that this game is so unique, do we not just take it back to the stores and tell them to screw off. But, for me, that won't last too much longer. If they don't patch by next Monday, I'm taking my copy back.
     
  16. TheBarnacle

    TheBarnacle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    hmm, good question. i enjoy some of the responses that assume the game maker (like any company) acts in good faith and truly wants to deliver a product for the consumer. c'mon, if they release a patch before xmas it won't be b/c they want all those civ iv gifts to be enjoyable...had they wanted US to enjoy the game, they would've held off on the release!!!

    which brings me to the point about them knowing it was broken already. probably true. i know that occurs in other software releases be it games or enterprise managment software, issues occur. often you 'go live' knowing there will need to be fixes. but whether or not they had already begun fixes? who knows.

    i'm guessing early december for a small-ish patch that fixes problems for SOME people. hopefully, the memory gobbling one.
     
  17. Paccali

    Paccali Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    This reminds me of when the Shadows of Luclin expansion came out for Everquest. They advertised the addition of a Bazaar, a new UI, as well as updating and revamping all of the old world zones to mesh with the new world zones.

    The UI and the Bazaar took as long as six months to go live after we all purchased the game. They still hadn't revamped or remodeled the old world zones years after the expansion came out; and as far as I know, they still haven't remodeled them. The only thing they did was change some textures.

    I hope Firaxis doesn't pull a Verant here. It doesn't matter. I'm just waiting for Spore anyway.
     
  18. Mondo_

    Mondo_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    lol bad memories Paccali.. bad memories
     
  19. Big Ev

    Big Ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Well I am hoping for a point release or hot fix very soon to deal with some crash issues. I've had the game for 5 days now and haven't been able to play a single game through. Also, the news has been little to none, only acknowledging the ATI problems and not giving a timeline for a possible fix.
     
  20. blue3c

    blue3c Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Wisconsin where the cheese is
    Don't hold your breath for any patch. You wanna know when the patch will come out, wait for the expansion pack. Thats the new gaming industry standards. Sell em crap, sell em expansion pack to fix said crap and get them twice for one game.
     

Share This Page