1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Where did the Peace go?

Discussion in 'CivBE - Strategy & Tips' started by Whiterussian, Dec 12, 2014.

  1. Whiterussian

    Whiterussian Warlord

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    I played two games since the new Patch. In both of them i had 1 respectively 2 neighbours DOW me pretty early in the game (<60turns).
    In both games there was no way i could ever make peace with any of them again.
    Is that normal??
    Because in the second game practically all my trade routes where blocked because of the enemy citys.

    I tryed everything i could think of. Take some of the citys. Take all of theyr citys. Surround capitol with huge army. I even had everyone else on the map DOW them as well. The AI regularly made war and peace among themselfs. But never with me :(
     
  2. FaceUnderMask

    FaceUnderMask Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Moscow
    It is an unconfirmed bug. Thought to happen only on double-DOWs. Completely (no cities left, sponsor becomes abscent on diplomacy list) eradicating one of them should help to get a peace deal out of the other.
     
  3. ZHONN

    ZHONN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    That happened to me too. It is annoying. Hopefully they'll patch it up soon enough.
     
  4. TLHeart

    TLHeart King

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Have to fight both factions, until you get the one who asked the other faction to join in against you to surrender... No way to know which one it is, so destroy their military, pretty easy at that stage, take a city, and ask for peace, probable get told no, rinse and repeat with the other faction... get peace. If that does not work, free developed cities...
     
  5. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,497
    It won't work as far as my tests can tell. You really have to annihilate one civilization to get the other one to even accept to talk about peace. And BTW you can probably abuse this too, in every game where i was asked by an AI to join in a war against another one, i could make peace with the AI but the other AI would stay at war till the end of the game.

    I sure would appreciate if Firaxis would at least tell us they are trying to investigate the issue :huh:

    This is the bug report i made in case you want to add your own comments
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=539353
     
  6. Promethian

    Promethian Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    I am finding it annoying because any time I have borders with two other factions if I do not declare war with one or lead one of them into a war with a different neighbor they almost inevitably double DoW me.
     
  7. stormtrooper412

    stormtrooper412 Peacemongering Turtlesaur

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,579
    Location:
    Beograd
    and it will go on forever and they will ask for your cities even though a shot hasn't been fired in 20+ turns
     
  8. Anomandaris

    Anomandaris Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Really? When such a thing happens to me, they never try diplomacy with me and say things like "Have you come to beg for mercy" when I try (for fun) while I am razing their captured cities and rolling toward the last one left standing. It is quite funny to hear that on one turn and "Our widows cry, our children weep" the very next turn. I hadn't linked this strangeness to the double DoW, thanks for pointing it out.
     
  9. RealHuhn

    RealHuhn Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    Germany
    This happened to me as well after a double DOW.
     
  10. Whiterussian

    Whiterussian Warlord

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    OK, thanks. Pretty annoying and kind of game breaking for me. Guess we will have to wait another month or two for the next patch.
     
  11. RakeWorm

    RakeWorm Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    What a random bug. And what a nuisance.
     
  12. DarkestOnion

    DarkestOnion Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    533
    I do not agree that there is a bug that causes this every time that it occurs. The AI seems to compare your forces and their forces mathematically to determine the possibility and price for a Peace Treaty. I have found that wiping out all of their units and reducing one of their cities to zero defense and offering peace works most of the time.
     
  13. PonderThis

    PonderThis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    This has also happened to me. Two civs DOW me. Civ A has two cities including the capital, Civ B has three. I take a city from Civ B, and the "Negotiate Peace" button is disabled so I go and take a city from Civ A. Still no Peace. Meanwhile Civ B has established a new base on the far side that I can't get to, so I take their other established base, then their capital, and still I can't negotiate peace with either civ. So I wipe out Civ B altogether and then and only then can I negotiate peace with Civ A. And of course by this time the rest of the planet hates me because I'm a warmonger. Naturally.
     
  14. Whiterussian

    Whiterussian Warlord

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    @Darkestonion
    I came to the point where i killed every unit the AI had, took every city, except capitol and reduced the city defence of the capitol to zero. Still he had no interest in a Peace treaty. How do you explain that?

    I am not Saying this happens EVERY time. I played three games since the patch and it DID happen in the first two games. Third game no one DOW'd me at all.
    Before the patch i did not play because i have a 144hz monitor

    Haven't played since then. I am just to dissapointed and frustrated with Firaxis or the hole gaming industrie. I just can't understand why it has become "Normal" to release a game broken (Civ BE, Far Cry 4, AC Unity just to name the last ones). And then having to wait months and months (in the case of Civ BE others at least have the decency to make quick patches) and or even have to pay for a couple of expansions and DLC's to actually have a good finished game.
    I am probably just getting to old for this
     
  15. _BRAZILVICTORY_

    _BRAZILVICTORY_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    this happened to me as well. I was in a war with basically all of the map for the entire game because of alliances.:D:D
     

Share This Page