1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Which bomber moved?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Sparrow3, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. Sparrow3

    Sparrow3 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    A stack of units in PTW:

    (4/4)Cavalry(6.3.0/3)
    (4/4)Cavalry(6.3.0/3)
    (4/4)Bomber(0(8).2)
    (4/4)Bomber(0(8).2)
    (4/4)Mech Infantry(12.18.0/2)
    (4/4)Mech Infantry(12.18.2/2)

    Question: Which bomber has already moved? I can't tell from looking at the stack list. :confused: I think should be able to. Perhaps they should change the Bomber listing to something like this:
    (4/4)Bomber(0(8).2.0) Moved
    (4/4)Bomber(0(8).2.1) Not Moved


    A trivia Question for all history lovers: :)

    1) At what point is history did the foot soldier become infantry? What is the origin of the word? What nation first said; "Alright you ground pounders aren't common soldiers, YOU'RE INFANTRY".
    2) Same Question for Cavalry.
     
  2. badeend

    badeend Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Somewhere in the 13th dimension.
    Infantry doesn't really sound like a heroic name. My guess is that it was a name given to the plebs, fighting on bare feet.
    Cavelry comes from Cavalier, someone who supported Charles the Great (don't know his english name exactly).
     
  3. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    The word "infantry" is related to "infant"; as far as I understand it, it originally refered to their inferior status to the cavalrymen. The term apparently came into use during the 17th C, but I do not know where.

    "Cavalry" derives from the Romance words for "horse"; cf Spanish caballo "horse". I can't ATM find any info on when the word gained currency, but I figure likely at the same time as "infantry".
     
  4. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,549
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    Are those units located in a city or an airbase? I thought for sure in PTW you can tell which plane moved or not. Are you sure you have all the info from the stacklist?
     
  5. Hygro

    Hygro soundcloud.com/hygro/

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    23,249
    Location:
    Montana
    Infantry came from infant indeed but I thought the reason was some military dude realized that soldiers with guns would be better off smaller targets than big buff men. This he created infantry.

    I don't know how to check bombers but I think the last used one tends to be on the bottom ?
     
  6. Sparrow3

    Sparrow3 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Here is a screen shot.

    The currently selected fighter has, of course not moved yet. The other fighter and the bomber have both flown missions in this turn. In this stack it is fairly easy to tell; but with 8-10 aircraft in a stack. To the east is another Aztec city with about 8 aircraft of various types. My technic is to bomb a city until I have reduced the defenders; then switch to ground units to take it. If I don't use all available aircraft on the first city, determining which are available to use on city number two is difficult.
     
  7. ybbor

    ybbor Will not change his avata

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,773
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    infantry comes from when knights had assitants (also known as squires) they would fight on foot aside of ahead of or behind the knight that was thier aprentence, since these people were usually young boys, they were called 'INFANTry'
     
  8. Sparrow3

    Sparrow3 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Originally French knights, I suspect. The word appears to be derived from a French word infanterie or infante; meaning "boy".

    edit: BTW, thanks for the information about squires being called infantry. I didn't know that.
     
  9. MajorFallout

    MajorFallout Battalion-Command

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    UK
    I don't think you can tell until you select them and if it say's 'This unit has already moved' then you'll know for certain. Or, go into the city view and look at the unit's green light blob (above the health bar). If it is red, then the unit's movement has been fully used, however if it is green or orange, then you can still move/use it some more.

    Also, the numbers after ground and sea units give away the number of moves left for that unit, eg. Mech Infantry(12.18.2/2), the last number, after the / is the movement number that is still left - if I'm not mistaken.
     
  10. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,549
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    You're correct MajorFallout. I wonder why there is no indicator in the list for aircraft though. I have never noticed this before. :confused:
     
  11. jst666

    jst666 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Hellsinki
    And the answer is....
     
  12. Sparrow3

    Sparrow3 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    I don't know the answer.
    Although, ybbor's answer about squires being called infantry sounds pretty good.

    The Last Conformist and badeend also had some comments that may or may not be part of the answer.
     
  13. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  14. MadScot

    MadScot Brandy's back!

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Location:
    La Belle Province
    Another great PTW improvement :mad:

    Vanilla used to tell you - see the attached screen shot. Which does exactly what was suggested above.....

    PTW doesn't do this, in any patch as far as I can tell. Why they chose to remove useful functionality who knows.

    What they have dreamt up for C3C I can only guess *shudder*
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page