1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Who tried the demo of Civ 5?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Steph, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Does that mean, that you cannot have seperate mods able to be used, as you can in Civ 3? Every change affects Everything, including save games???
     
  2. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I don't interprete it that way. I think it means if you try to load a saved game for mod A while mod B is loaded, it will crash. But I think you can select what mod you are playing at start.

    The difference is in CivIII, the rules are embedded in the save game, but probably not in Civ V.

    To make an analogy, imagine loading a bic, but with the wrong pediaicons.txt.
     
  3. Maimonides

    Maimonides Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,078
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    I'm sticking with Civ3. It's amazing that I'm still hooked on it after all these years. That's mostly the fault of all you modders/unit makers/etc.:goodjob:

    I have Civ4, but didn't like it much. I don't see a reason to buy Civ5, yet. When you're used to Civ3, the nations in Civ4 are more like city-states so it's a bit ridiculous to me that they claim to have introduced city-states in Civ5...
     
  4. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,838
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    In context, it was explaining why the "saved games" option must be checked in mod properties if it uses any custom assets, so that you can't load a mod save with the wrong mod loaded. I was just pointing out that the game's default behavior is still to crash at the first sign of anything missing.
     
  5. JSnider

    JSnider Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    330
    Well have tried it again and with some of the mods out now it has the 'one more turn' feel. Still think it won't be worth it for months after some decent tech and balance mods have been done. Biggest issue is (for me) making new units .. skinning the ones taht are in the game with Gimp no problem, but they replace not add and it appears at this point can't use to gen a new unit. Spec is that the granny format that was used for the game is unique (a write up in the tut section on this). So Steph how is your game coming along as a flex game still needed.
     
  6. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    Bought it. Played it solo. Played it multi. Enjoyed it. Shelved it, waiting for a multi patch and some mods.

    Like Civ-4 in fact that ended up with a good gameplay and some really good mods.

    Right now, it's a good game but it's not yet deep enough, or balanced enough to make me play it everyday. I'm sure I'll get back to it in a month or two, and definitely when the first full-mods will come out.

    What really disappointed me is the poor multiplayer experience. Sim-turn only, poor lobby control, poor admin control, poor save control. Waiting for a patch and pitboss.
     
  7. polyphemus

    polyphemus join the long blue line

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    At the Air Force Academy
    There's a Call to Power 2?????:drool:

    When was this??? I loved the first 1!!!

    o crap...i didnt realize there were so many pages...my bad...
     
  8. General 666

    General 666 Culturebringer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    skull throne
    Yes ! :) Just helding the box in my hand. :D
    It tells me ,that it`s from Activision and has been released in the year 2000. ;)
    166 MHz minimum required. :lol:

    But if you looking out for buying it now ...
    ... you better install No.1 again !
    I have always liked it better than No2. Most part of the fans agreed ... :cry:

    Sadly both games have no Editor. :blush:
     
  9. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Both game have edit possibility, it's just a plain text file. And if you go at Apolyton, you can get a FREE improved version since they released the source code.
     
  10. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I gave a try at normal game... Things are really scaled down!

    On a standard map, without conquest, I was able to built a vast empire of ... four cities before I ran out of empty space.

    And due to the stacking limitation to one unit / hex, when I invaded the main other civilization later in the game, I attacked with 4 infantry, one artillery, and 3 frigates. Not really possible to have more, since you'd have almost nowhere to put them :(.

    The game itself can be a little fun, but it's more RTS than grand strategy now.
     
  11. Takhisis

    Takhisis is it fall yet

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    44,797
    Location:
    up yours!
    I know that the units per tile limit can be changed, it was written down somewhere in the IALS thread on civ5.
     
  12. BadKharma

    BadKharma Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Brew City
    Yes the maps are much smaller than what you can have with C3C because it is using a 3D engine. I can play huge, and giant maps on my computer but even those fall short.

    It definitely is not RTS. That is a completely different kind of game.
     
  13. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    RTS was a poor choice of words. Actually, what I meant was it's more a wargame with a small tactical battle than an epic strategical game.
    I find the pace strange also. Like in takes 15 turns to build a fighter, and by the time you build the first one, it's aleady obsolete and you can upgrade it directly to jet fighter, since technology research is faster than building the unit!
    I played at the easiest level to try, and the AI is really poor. You can easily conquer the ennemy empire if you have some ships to provide artillery support and slaughter the army.
    And with the globlal happyness, I've never seen any revolt problem.
    And when trying to purchase something in a city... It did nothing.
     
  14. BadKharma

    BadKharma Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Brew City
    The combat is definitely strange with no stacking, probably some way to improve the AI chances.

    The pace is definitely screwed up many adjustments needed there. The easiest level is not worth playing on higher levels the AI gets the normal AI cheats and attacks you with fairly overwhelming odds.

    Just conquer more than 4 cities ;) I had barbarian uprisings because of unhappiness after doing so.
    If you already have a civilian and military unit in your city (includes great leaders) you cannot purchase any units. There definately problems with the game that will not fully be cleared up until they release the full source code sometime this spring:rolleyes:
     
  15. JSnider

    JSnider Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    330
    At this point the vanilla game is a 'bust'. Now if add in some of the Mods becomes playable. One favs is 'Procylon's Call to Power Project' which changes about everything in the game and adds in two future eras at this point. Up to v9 on this, still long way to go and with the stupid crashed inherent in the game on larger maps and overloaded with units really gotta say thanks for civ3 and it's mod community.
     
  16. BadKharma

    BadKharma Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Brew City
    I just wish C3C had the ability to have XML call-outs:mad:
     
  17. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Sulla has lots of good info on 'what went wrong' that is pretty much spot on from what I can remember playing the game when it first came out (haven't since). Of course, I haven't played new patches, so I don't even know what has changed; and I deleted Steam from my computer.

    http://www.garath.net/Sullla/Civ5/whatwentwrong.html

    The problems are much greater than unbalanced; the model itself is broken and would be extremely tough to fix without a massive overhaul. We all know Firaxis won't do a massive overhaul, so the best bet is to hope they don't screw Civ 6 up. And Shafer (the head guy) got let go (for some reason) conviently after people starting blaming him for the game. Seems like 2K and Firaxis don't have a clue anymore (Well, 2K never did).

    This is what happens when pathetic companies like Take-2 (for one; blamed modders for porn that they put into their game, and they lost that lawsuit) 2K start controlling the great games that Firaxis wishes to create.

    ---

    I used to think that Firaxis was able to get another publisher if they wished, but since Firaxis is completely owned by 2K under Take-Two... the civilization series (as well as Firaxis) will only continue as long as they wish it to. If they release another crappy broken game, it could spell the end of the series if sales suffer badly enough. Seems Civ 5 did well enough though to hopefully warrant a 6.
     
  18. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    ....So anyone want to see about setting up a team to modify FreeCiv to use Civ III terrain and unit graphics? :lol:
     
  19. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I'm still working on my game... Slowly...
    At the moment i'm modding Napoleon Total War, but it's a relatively limited mod. I know when it will be finished!
    Then back to my game.
     
  20. Quintillus

    Quintillus Archiving Civ3 Content Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,260
    Location:
    Columbus
    I tried the demo again in December. I definitely agree that the AI is really poor. I was outpacing the AI by a ridiculous amount on Warlord in September, so this time I kicked it up to King (level 5) and went militaristic. First try I didn't have the hang of 1 UPT combat and the warfare was a draw. Second try I completely conquered the English within the 100 turn limit, despite the slow unit construction, without ever being threatened in a halfway serious manner. There was some other civ out there with a higher score, but none that I'd met, so essentially I was the most powerful civ around by far. I went from having played Civ4 a decent amount and never winning above Noble (even before Warlords/BTS AI improvements), to dominating on King in Civ5 in 300 turns of play (Civ3 I've played enough that it doesn't really fit in the comparison).

    Only downside about that domination is that at the end of the 100 turns my people were "Very Unhappy" and had -50% production or something like that. Slight problem. But probably not enough to stop me from staying very competitive given the AI's performance.

    I agree with the grand strategy being lacking, too. The AI being more competitive would doubtless help in that, but I had large swaths of land sitting completely empty because no one could afford the happiness cost requisite to settle more cities (this happened in all 3 of my games).

    There is some fun in it, and I may try an Emperor/Immortal/Diety/Sid game and see how high I can push the difficulty before the AI's unfair advantage makes it competitive. But I'd expect my unfamiliarity to knock me down at least a level relative to the previous iteration, and it's the opposite in Civ5 (Civ4 did knock me down from Monarch to Noble, to its credit). But I don't see it replacing Civ3 for single-player for me any time soon, or Civ4 for multiplayer. Maybe if they release an expansion with a really impressive demo I'd give it a try before Complete comes out.

    Tom, I wonder too if 2K/Take Two is responsible for a good part of Civ's issues of late. I can't blame them for the issues I had with Civ4 at launch (now that I've played Civ4:BTS I think most, but not all, of them are cleared up), but Civ5 definitely seems both rushed out the gate and targeted towards the lowest common denominator who might be interested in the game. It's hard to say whether Shafer was behind most of the ideas people don't like, or if he was trying to alter the game but was shot down, or both - maybe his new ideas would have worked better had he had more freedom in how to implement them. But I doubt I'm the only one who's not confident in Firaxis's ability to make a good Civ6, especially Vanilla.

    Hikaro, I don't know about everyone else, but FreeCiv being entirely focused on multiplayer has kept me from seriously looking at it. Playing multiplayer Civ4 with some friends over break was a lot of fun, but for general play, without working out a time to play with friends ahead of time, I think Civ works best single-player.
     

Share This Page