1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why am I starving when producing a settler?

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Civ Spies&Lies, Oct 17, 2019.

  1. Civ Spies&Lies

    Civ Spies&Lies Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Apologies if I misunderstanding a mechanic.

    Spoiler screen :
    20191017002538_1.jpg


    Building a settler for a number of turns, no issues.

    When it finishes, I immediately starve off one pop.

    As shown in screenshot, I'm at even food to consumption but even when I rearranged to 14 food pop starves down to 3, so no more settlers.

    Why am I not okay? 10 food to 10 eaten is stagnation not starvation right?
    And doesn't my 4.1 in the bucket stave off shortfalls until it runs out?

    Sorry if it's on me but I'm trying to relearn Civ through the CBP lens.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 17, 2019
  2. Noob Fanboy

    Noob Fanboy Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    234
    It's a new mechanic, based on Civ 6. Every time you produce a settler you consume one population, and you need at least 4 population to build a settler.

    It's a mechanic implemented to limit the early settler spam of some players.
     
    Civ Spies&Lies likes this.
  3. Civ Spies&Lies

    Civ Spies&Lies Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Ok, thanks for the heads-up. I jumped from old stable to latest beta and missed the change.
     
  4. DakaSha

    DakaSha Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    :shifty:
     
  5. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,296
    Hehe yeah I think that mechanic has been in Civ 1, 2, and 3. Only 4 and 5 haven't had it.
     
  6. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,562
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Don't you think that most VP is, in a sense, civ V downgraded to whatever worked best before, but polished? Plus the amazing AI.

    What could be truly original mechanics? The needs system, the skirmisher line, the uniqueness of the leaders and maybe the adjacency bonuses. Maybe the variety of the promotions and how they unfold. I have my doubts about other mechanics. Was there ever a supply limit, a warmonger penalty, monopoly bonuses or corporations?
     
  7. HeathcliffWarriors

    HeathcliffWarriors Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    360
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Unit supply is a base Civ V thing, it's just so high in the base game that it's never really an issue.
     
  8. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    Nothing combat-wise can meaningfully be compared to earlier series because of 1UPT and hexes. The rest is either Civ 4.5 or Civ 5.5

    G
     
  9. vyyt

    vyyt Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Or more like 34.5, I suspect you guys have set the bar so high that it will take a couple of versions for the regular Civ series to reach the level of fun we have with VP.

    EDIT: Don't get me wrong, I loved even the original Civ5, but I doubt the devs will have enough time and budget to polish the regular game to the VP level and casual players probably do not necessarily ask for stuff like super clever AI
     
    Revolutionist_8 likes this.
  10. Noob Fanboy

    Noob Fanboy Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    234
    Some corporations are too stupid to think beyond Inmediate Economical Benefits. Firaxis is one, i don't think they're going to make a specialized AI development team ever
     
  11. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    i remember playing civ 3 and it'd lower your pop building a settler.

    also in civ 3 when you conscripted you lost 1 pop too.

    i wish we had that in civ 5. you know when you choose authority and hit multiples of 10 you get a conscript, but your pop doesn't go down by one. it should really.
     
  12. ridjack

    ridjack Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    557
    Why on Earth would I ever take Authority at that point? One free unit can never be worth sacrificing a pop.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  13. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    because it's more realistic than a conscript just poofing up from thin air. someone has to, actually be that conscript
     
  14. displayer

    displayer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Messages:
    33
    In that case, shouldn't you lose a pop every time you build a military unit?
     
    nmb93 likes this.

Share This Page