1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why are horses so rare now?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Bast, Sep 18, 2007.

  1. Bast

    Bast Protector of Cats

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    In BTS, horses are seriously rare. Why is this? They must've done something to it. I played a large pangea map and there was only 1 horse resource. But in every game I played they're never close to me. I've been playing as English or Greek lately so no matter to me but I think it's weird that they've reduced this resource dramatically.

    I wonder why.
     
  2. Inspector Javert

    Inspector Javert Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    yeah I hate it when that happens because if I have a UU that requires horses it makes the game a lot less fun
     
  3. jimbob27

    jimbob27 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    London
    I haven't noticed any change in the distribution of horses. The last few games I've played i've managed to get them pretty easily.

    Are you playing setting different from what you normally do? If you switch from temperate climate to arid or something, i'd probably have an effect.
     
  4. scorth

    scorth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Kingston, Canada
    Ditto on the horses, my current game shows about 3 or 4 on the map...hardly enough for 12 civs, is it? **Give me your damn horses Khan!**

    Although, to be honest, I haven't been that impressed with the horse units anyway, I rarely use them, except to plunder squares. And if I intend to keep the cities, then I rarely plunder the squares since I'll spend the next few turns rebuilding the infrastructure I so recently destroyed.

    I figure that if they are in my sphere of influence, bonus, if not, whatever. I'm more concerned about copper, iron, oil, uranium and most lux anyway. Maybe I could saddle up and ride those cows and pigs that I seem to have so many of, or maybe even the deer that I find myself with.:D
     
  5. mrt144

    mrt144 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,121
    Location:
    Seattle
    I havent noticed this. in the last game i started there were 2 horse sources within 7-10 squares of the capitol.
     
  6. gnome

    gnome Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    New Port Richey, FL
    I use horses a LOT, because their retreat ability lets me soften up a stack, then the surviving horses are useful as a second wave.
     
  7. burlicconi

    burlicconi King

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    974
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Yes, I also noticed that how is less horse sources than before. It could be funnier now, but It can be also annoying...
    To me seems that now metals and ivory are rarer than before... Several time I played without copper or iron or horses. Also, I can't remember when I last time played with ivory in my borders...
     
  8. Sephlock

    Sephlock Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Although I agree that its pretty ridiculous from a gameplay standpoint (and don't even get me started on bronze...), it IS kinda realistic... well, maybe not the specific example you cited, but not all Civs in real life had access to horses...
     
  9. gunter

    gunter King

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    I propose to introduce a new resource to fill the gap of the lack of horses in BTS :

    the new resource is : " Pony " ...... ok, not exactly the same agility and speed but they can play the game in a dignified way as well
     
  10. Silence101

    Silence101 King

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    745
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I haven't noticed that with horses - it seems to me that copper is a lot less common than it used to be, though... maybe it has to do with the map script? (I've been playing hemispheres, btw.)
     
  11. microbe

    microbe Cascaded Mansion

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,596
    I noticed more scarce horses too...for the few games I played, I didn't seem to get horses in any of them.
     
  12. AnaNg

    AnaNg Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    It's not just horses - I'm researching archery more now before BW because, well, odds are I'm just not going to have any copper (or horses) anywhere near me.
     
  13. gunter

    gunter King

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    It seems quite evident the BTS has reduced the avalaibility of resources. IMO this is intended by Fireaxians for two reasons :

    1 ) to boost corporations role

    2 ) to trig more " diplomatic events " among civilizations


    :king:
     
  14. SwordofStriker

    SwordofStriker Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Texas
    Maybe it's just our perception, maybe it's not. Still, I perceive certain strategic resources to be less abundant as well. Honestly, I like it that way. I don't feel like each civilization should have one or more of every resource, and especially not the ones with military value. I like that I have to actually fight over a valuable resource sometimes and I like being able to deny said resources to my enemies.
     
  15. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Since BtS uses the Warlords BonusInfo.xml file, it's safe to say that no changes have been made in the distribution of Horses, or any other resource. If you think there has been, it's only bad luck or a vivid imagination.
     
  16. King of Town

    King of Town Adventuring

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801
    Location:
    Wilamette Valley
    You know I thought the same thing about copper, and then I posted about it and it was next to me all the time. I think it goes on streaks. I haven't had iron close to me in a while
     
  17. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Nothing has been changed regarding resources as of Warlords. If you want to make any custom changes to any resource in BtS, you have to use the file that was included with that particular XP. BtS does not have it's own BonusInfo file, which is what determines the distribution of all resources in the game. Nor does it have a map generator file, so nothing has been changed there either. Again, it uses the one provided in Warlords.
     
  18. burlicconi

    burlicconi King

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    974
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Actually, I'm not complaining... It is more entertaining now:)
    It also gives more important role to diplomacy... And like you said, it IS realistic...
    For example, Inca and Aztecs didn't have horses at all.... And metal too...
    End sometimes gives you very big benefit- if you capture two sources of horse, for example, and you opponents don't have single one :king:
     
  19. Electryon

    Electryon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    I seem to notice less horses also, but in my current game I have 5 Copper within the boundries of my first 3 cities.
    Even if BtS uses the same map files, could the way it places resources be different?
     
  20. Sephlock

    Sephlock Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Speaking of which, is there a "realistic map" script out there? Just once I'd like to play on a generated map that doesn't have a checkerboard pattern of desert and mountains placed seemingly at random...
     

Share This Page