why can't you just choose two traits?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by saml00, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. al_thor

    al_thor Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Yeah, the UU has lost a bit of it's importance since it no longer sparks a GA. Still, some of the UU's are kinda cool.
    I'm more into the traits (boobs), so I will have to look into this modding. I hope that my wife will be agreeable. :lol:
     
  2. neriana

    neriana Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    How would you feel if someone said "traits are like testicles," and then continued the comparison?

    We are not amused.
     
  3. Sub

    Sub in omnia paratus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    601
    I believe its done for ballance. I would personally love to choose whatever traits I want though.
     
  4. Penitent

    Penitent Pacifist Warmonger

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    UK
    neriana that would be most amusing :p

    I agree, the Romans are by no means weak thanks to their UU, use the Preatorian to conquer a big empire and suddenly their traits make sense. Have the balls to get out of your comfort zone and you'll enjoy it. :lol:
     
  5. PriestOfDiscord

    PriestOfDiscord (Not MobBoss)

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    the deepest, darkest South
    Because everyone would pick the trait combo that wasn't put in the game, and for good reason: Industrial/Philosophical.
     
  6. PriestOfDiscord

    PriestOfDiscord (Not MobBoss)

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    the deepest, darkest South
    Ack, double post.
     
  7. al_thor

    al_thor Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Hmmmmmm......I think that might have been the combo I was looking for. Not sure, but it might have been.
     
  8. Zhahz

    Zhahz PC Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    It seems to me that the starting traits, techs, and UUs are somewhat balanced and that being able to customize would likely hurt the balance quite a bit.

    For example, no aggressive civs start with mining, which suggests that early testing found them to be too powerful if they started with mining.

    I also think the traits themselves are reasonably balanced. I have my favorites but I get bored if I play the same traits all the time so I'll mix it up and I've played as every trait at least once. Different starting techs and UUs can affect how I play too so I like variety in that as well.
     
  9. josephstalin

    josephstalin Kremlin Highlander

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    Paris
    That is so bad idea, this will make a game just a graphics mode.
     
  10. bigphesta

    bigphesta Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Des Moines, IA
    Traits are like testicles. There, happy?
     
  11. NuclearElephant

    NuclearElephant Elephas Maximus

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Yes! It would be very nice to be able to pick your traits. I was looking for an industrious philosophical civ a while back and low and behold, they do not exist.

    -NE
     
  12. Maxor127

    Maxor127 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    229
    I just don't like playing as women. I don't remember if Civ IV does this, but I remember in Civ 3, it would ask you if you were Male or Female when you began the game but it wouldn't affect your portrait at all. I also create my own leader name and name some of my own cities so it's just weird to have a cross-gender thing going on. When I first read about two leaders for civs, I thought there would be two for every civ representing male and female. Is there an easy way to use another civ's portrait for a different civ? Like have Caesar's portrait with Elizabeth's Civ and traits. I'd also like to just pick my own traits. There should be a Custom civ option at the beginning of the Civ select screen where you could pick your portrait, name, traits, etc. That's much easier than dealing with text-editing files and figuring out XML and stuff.
     
  13. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I think this is a great idea. My first game I was looking at the traits in the book and wanted to play whatever civ was Industrius and Philosophical, howver, not one existed so I went with Cre/Phil. I really wanted to see the GP system. :D

    I think now I would go with Agg/Cre
     
  14. CrackityJones

    CrackityJones Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    I do like the idea, but I worry that if it were built-in and so easily accessible, I'd probably always use it, never playing with the pre-ordained combinations, and losing out on some of the flavor and challenge as a result.

    As for the UUs, I like having them linked to particular civs, but MRM's research-based alternative isn't bad. I'd propose a slight modification -- give the special unit to the first country to discover the pre-req tech. (Makes some amount of sense as well -- armies attempt to copy the military innovations of their contemporaries, but their copies fall short of the real thing.)
     

Share This Page