1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why do civs sometimes declare war on you...

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by LoneDragon, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. LoneDragon

    LoneDragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    ...and 50 turns later you have yet to see a single soldier from them?
     
  2. Gamewizard

    Gamewizard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,234
    May have been bribed into war.
     
  3. Rosty K

    Rosty K Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    959
    Gender:
    Male
    Sometimes (or even most of the time) they just use the joint war as part of a trade deal for something completely different, so naturally they never show up then, cause they never intended to. When they do really mean war, they will get some units to your borders first.
     
  4. LoneDragon

    LoneDragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    AIs are some opportunistic A holes...I was just in a spot where no one could touch me...and instead of declaring war on Arabia when they attacked a city state I was suizerain of, I lined up all my troops in a blockade....
    So of course, as soon as Peter snakes my suizerain status and scatters my troops, Arabia surprise attacks me...and then Russia a few turns later....after all the times in most games where I'M the warmonger for initiating a surprise attack...
     
  5. Orange1861

    Orange1861 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, the AI isn't very good at desicsion making until about King difficulty. I still see this throughout the games, but they are more likely to actually attack in King.
     
  6. LethalLeigh

    LethalLeigh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    Before the Macedon/Persia patch I was playing the Greatest Earth Map. I had all 22 Civs in the game a couple had been defeated by the time I gained contact with everyone but I was mostly friendly with all Civ's. when out of the blue for no reason 12 of them declared War on me 2 at a time over 6 turns. 2 of them were declared Friends. I assumed they were bribed into War via trade, and well I though I was in for a hell of a fight.
    BUT only 3 Civ's sent units against me and I was able to fight them off with little loss. The others did nothing other then ask for peace 15 turns later. Most of them were on the other side of the map and I shared no borders with them at all.
    So I think that the AI will do thing like DoW thinking they wont have to fight.
     
  7. isau

    isau Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052
    The main reason is that AIs that enter Joint Pacts don't yet have a mission in mind. They are accepting the bribe and have no real intention of fighting you. As weird as it may sound, its not without real world precedent. Sometimes nations declare wars but don't actually engage in them.
     
  8. LoneDragon

    LoneDragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    For the Joint Pact, don't they both have to declare war at the same time? And, if not, I'm also pretty sure I have had this happen with only one civ declaring war.
     
  9. king of nowhere

    king of nowhere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    sometimes it also happens that a civ actually wants to invade you, but it shares no border with you and the civs between them and you don't give them open borders. I've relied on that on ooccasions.
     

Share This Page