1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why Do I Always Lose Money???

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Eddie_420, Nov 2, 2003.

1. Eddie_420

Eddie_420 Chieftain

ok im the americans and i start out fine, learning diff techs, building cities,etc. i have science rate at 50% and luxury rate at 0% ill always start out making 8-9 gold per turn then all of a sudden i start losing 9-10 gold per turn after a few thousand years. i lower the science rate until it gets to where even at 10% im still losing money. then when i switch governments to either republic or monarchy im still losing money til my treasury is gone. im kinda new at this game and i need some help.

2. Dr Tiny

Dr Tiny Chieftain

do you have a massive military eating up the treasury?

have you built marketplaces in cities making 2 or more coins? marketplaces increase income by 50% in that city so no need to make them in cities making 1 coin as you wont see a benefit and itr will simply cost you cash.

Do you have big cities working lots of tiles and therefore more income?

Are you keeping people happy with clowns and hence removing someone from the workplace...build happiness improvements if you can.

Are you still in despotism?

Have you built roads on the tiles being worked by a cities population?

Hold off building every improvement in every city, each will cost you and it may or may not be helping you.

3. Kute

Kute Gaian

My first guess would be a huge corruption (look at your city screen for red shields/coins), second guess would be you build too fast, i.e. your building upkeep is far too hight for a self sustaining city, and third your military is eating your income away.