1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why Irrigate Bonus Food Resources?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Meshen85, Jun 2, 2005.

1. Meshen85

Meshen85 Chieftain

After a few online PTW sessions and some chatting with a few humanoids, I found out that it's wise to irrigate bonus food resources, rather than mine them. I'm still a noob, so forgive the dumb question, but why is this so? Thanks!

2. Reprisal

Reprisal Chieftain

It depends on when you'll be doing the irrigating. If you're still in Despotism, it's probably better to mine them. If you're out of Despotism, however, then irrigating them will allow your cities to grow faster and you'll be able to start mining hills and mountains for the shields.

- Rep.

3. Own

Own Grasshoppah

In despotism you should irrigate food bonues because it makes a food difference, unlike when you irrigate regualar grawssland.

4. DJMGator13

DJMGator13 Not playing enough Civ

There is an excellent writeup by Cracker in the War Academy about this. There is a nice table in the Terrain Type section which shows the effect of mining and irrigating the different terrain types. I've printed out the table and keep it by my computer whenever I start a new game. Here's the link.

5. vmxa

vmxa Chieftain

Growth is the reason. Even in despotism you get an extra food from an irrigated food bonus. Being +2 food Vs +3 is a big deal in those first 100 turns.

Having an extra shields by mining a cow is not as useful at that stage. Later you may want to come back and mine that cow. Say you now have 6 cities and can get by with settlers/workers form those place and want to crank out troops or even a wonder. Now the +3 food at size 10 may not be as valuable as the extra shield.