1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why is no one afraid of me?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by CaterpillarKing, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    On a leaf
    It seems as thought no matter how many times stronger I am or however many cigs I've erased no one is ever afraid. Only one time was someone afraid, and we were at the same tech level I had just taken one city. How does one becom "scary"?


    Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
     
  2. beestar

    beestar subdeity

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,595
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    Have nuclear weapons.
     
  3. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    On a leaf
    I have over a dozen each game. I expand specifically for uranium and use total war is the fascism tree to double it to at least 30 or so. I usually have all or almost all missiles and maybe a couple bombs to weaken the city then the missile to destroy it.


    Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
     
  4. Magma_Dragoon

    Magma_Dragoon Reploid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,354
    Try having an army rating 5x larger than everyone else put together
     
  5. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    Other than having nukes I think you need your military within 8 tiles of an AI city for them to notice(same with CS).
     
  6. troublmaker

    troublmaker Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    The computer can only be afraid if they know you have something scary to be afraid of. If you have your full army at the border and it's 2x theirs, they might be afraid. If you hide your army in your borders and they have no spies... they won't be afraid. If you have nukes and they have nukes.... well.. they're not that afraid.
     
  7. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    On a leaf
    Ok, I guess this all makes sense. I just hate when I get one soldier over there they automatically ask if I'm attacking and if I lie I get a diplo hit later but if I don't then my army isn't ready


    Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
     
  8. soldier2975

    soldier2975 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri
    Wipe out another civ with your giant army, that always makes them afraid.
     
  9. Bulldog Bats

    Bulldog Bats King

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Occasionally I get one of the "afraid" markers, but only when the AI is on the same continent, and is much weaker - I don't expect to see it, but when I do, I take it as a "please don't hurt me" message. Same way when you declare war on someone much weaker they try to insult your ethics.
     
  10. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Deity

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,704
    Built nukes and people will fear you
     
  11. Damien10

    Damien10 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    How do you know If a civ is afraid, where is that information placed?
     
  12. GWashington

    GWashington Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    United States of America

    It will say afraid when you go on the diplomatic screen. It says it where it normally says friendly, neutral, guarded, hostile, etc


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. Flyboy13

    Flyboy13 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    I wonder if a reason afraid doesn't show very often is that by the time you've reached conditions that might make AI players afraid, you've probably already pissed most people off by expanding and warmongering so perhaps they skip straight to Hostile or Guarded. Does that seem right? I'll confess to not being completely up to speed with diplomacy mechanics.
     
  14. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    On a leaf
    That actually makes perfect sense XD


    Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
     
  15. LoneRebel

    LoneRebel Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Distinguished and Ever Loyal City
    That's what I was thinking too. I mean, it's so rare to see "Afraid"...
     
  16. General Tso

    General Tso Panzer General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,543
    Location:
    U. S. of A.
    Can they be Hostile and Guarded at the same time? I think I remember seeing that.
     
  17. forcedalt

    forcedalt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    somewhere , i assure you.
    You sound up to speed to me. "afraid" seems to be a rare status. I get a few afraids if : i build the first nuke. Speaking of which : it kind of irks me how impossible it is to get good info on the AI , yet they know exactly what unit i just built.
     
  18. mokyo24

    mokyo24 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    It's really annoying, like the entire world is watching every step you take, every nation snooping. Either they change it to allow for more privacy or they increase the number of spies available for human players to compensate.
     
  19. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    On a leaf
    I do like, however, you can see nukes or planes or whatever without having a spy stationed.


    Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
     
  20. mokyo24

    mokyo24 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    I'm not really into checking other's progress since the game is usually over before they start building nukes. Anyway, do they get worried only after you're done building the nukes or when you start building (i.e. they discovered what you're building by spying)?
     

Share This Page