Why is proper game speed scaling so difficult to manage in the Civ franchise?

vale

Mathematician
I've been complaining about this issue here since 2007 but they still are getting it wrong. I just wish the scaling would be done so that the game speeds have experiences in the same ballpark.

1. Staggered starts go from a ridiculously strong advantage for the player on quick to essentially meaningless on marathon.
2. Gold huts STILL don't scale.
3. Many expeditions don't scale except in the duration of time your explorer has to spend doing them. 80 production reward for 25+ turns of expedition is sort of a joke.

I'm also willing to bet the hammer decay issue is the same as it was in Civ IV and Civ V.

This doesn't seem like it would be difficult to fix. If balance is the concern, then the scaling doesn't have to be perfectly linear. But the numbers should not remain the same on different game speeds.

I know espionage scales (siphon energy seems crazy on marathon to be honest) and I'm not sure about quest rewards. The main point I am trying to make though is that marathon and quick seem like two completely different games, not the same game with different settings. I'm not a fan of that feeling.

EXACTLY THIS! This is one of the reasons why I hate playing on different game speeds. Some strategies that work on normal speed because stupid on say marathon or broken on quick.

Another example of this is trying to "sell" open borders to neighbors. This was a strategy in Civ 5 for earning easy gold in early game. Try that on marathon and it's stupid. 50 gold for 90 turn open borders is a joke. But on quick its broken (50 gold for 15 turns open border).

I agree. I would imagine they don't do much play-testing on Marathon in-house.

i always viewed marathon and quick as different games with different balance, not just the same game at different speed

i expect marathon to have a larger window of opportunity to use units before they become obsolete