Why is this still happening?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Malachi256, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. Malachi256

    Malachi256 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    I find barbarian camps with AI settlers...

    I know the code for escorting is in the game. It's not hard - it's not like settlers can out-move any military units in the game.

    I guess I could understand it on prince-and-lower difficulties, but on king and above? Really?
     
  2. Adjuvant

    Adjuvant Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    Maybe barbs killed the escort...
     
  3. Pax_Romanus

    Pax_Romanus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    I'm guessing either a) the unit got killed by several brutes ganging up on it, or b) the settler was forced to move around a unit from a CS/ another civ, while the escort moved through it. ( AI cannot path to save its virtual life.)
     
  4. Malachi256

    Malachi256 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    Well I guess that's possible, even though it's a little ridiculous given the bonuses that the AI gets against barbs on king+up.
     
  5. Adjuvant

    Adjuvant Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    I... don't think AI gets bonus v barb unless it goes honor policy...

    It plays on a lower difficulty than "you do" and starts with more stuff.
     
  6. Wulf38

    Wulf38 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    The AI settler code is pretty bad. It seems like when a settler is built, it picks a settling location and stubbornly tries to follow the shortest path to that place, no matter what happens. They'll try to send settling parties straight through hostile territory while at war, and the settler will happily keep walking into range of enemy units even if its escort gets killed. Then if for some reason if it can't settle in the chosen spot, it will just kinda sit around forever, not bothering to take other perfectly good settling locations that it could easily reach.

    It doesn't surprise me then that they get picked off by barbs sometimes.
     
  7. nefloyd

    nefloyd King

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Yea, their settlers can easily get locked into an incompletable state. If I have a neighbor who I think will settle a location I want, I can use 3-4 units to block the movement path until I settle it. Then his settler just idles forever. Can do the same thing with land purchases to create a border line, too.
     

Share This Page