Why play Civ 1?

SkyProf5

Chieftain
I was wondering: Why are people still playing the original Civilization when the game is up to Civ 4 and 5?

I had only played Civ III and recently became interested in the game again when Civ 5 was being released. I got curious about the Civ legacy and purchased the original Civ on CDROM; then downloaded a copy of DOSBox to run on Mac OS X. So in my case, I am playing Civ 1 as a retro experience (and having a ball).

Why do you play Civ 1?

Simple and fun. Not so much micromanagement as in later games.
You can pick up a game and run through it in one evening.
And the weird things that can happen... like the 3 tile island with a barbarian city on it.

I started playing Civ III and found that I was boggled by all the details. The guys here at the Civ III forums were a great help, but I still wasn't getting it. Sure it's Build, Grow, Research, but I wanted to understand the game from the inside. I figured playing Civ I would help with that.

Well, it's been a slow process, but I am getting the hang of it. I know play Warlord games and think of Chieftain as a fond memory.

Interesting. I thought Civ I was harder than Civ III. Mostly because of city based support for units (more micromanagement). I still don't do a good job of getting trade routes established for all my cities and my last game was the first time I made extensive use of Diplomats to subvert enemy cities. I'm gradually getting better though.

Interesting. I thought Civ I was harder than Civ III. Mostly because of city based support for units (more micromanagement). I still don't do a good job of getting trade routes established for all my cities and my last game was the first time I made extensive use of Diplomats to subvert enemy cities. I'm gradually getting better though.