Why play PBEM?

illumina

Chieftain
I dont understand why in the world someone would want to play PBEM, from what ive seen it seems like people would be playing the same game for months or even longer. Making one turn every day or every week? You cant even get into the game if youre just playing for a couple of minutes a day/week. It sounds like watching one scene of a movie every week until finally after months its over.

The netcode in Civ4 seems to be far superior to that of Civ3, so a normal multiplayer game can be played without much lag at all. It just sounds like it takes alot away from the multiplayer experience. Ive been playing civ for 11 years and i still cant believe this PBEM feature is in here, and its even more unbelievable that i saw tons of PBEM threads.

So tell me, why are you guys playing PBEM?

Because for many of us, the people we want to play with (family, friends) are scattered all over the world and it would be impossible to coordinate even just a couple hours where everyone can be availiable.

Indeed part of the appeal for me is that it keeps me in more regular contact with my distant family. :)

Yes PBE is SLOW, but thats the nature of it. An epic game could very well take months, but that shouldnt be the only game one is playing. You can inbetween be playing your own single player games, you could have several PBEM games going, or jump in on a live game on the weekend.

Having said all that, I cant wait for pitboss because I think it will give us the same facility of PBEM, but much more streamlined, with the possibility of "accelerated" play on weekends for example.

You get more time for your turn. And you can actually play an epic game.