Why should I have an early war?

Spav

Chieftain
I'm a newbie playing at Warlord level at the moment. I've seen several people here mention about going to war early. Why would you do that?

Assuming the default conditions of continents and 6 civs as opponents, it seems unlikely that you could destroy them all, so what is the advantage?

Room to expand? Capturing new cities to save making your own? What?

If you're building military units, you're not building libraries, etc to increase your research, so aren't you risking falling behind in the tech race?

I think I'm a pacifist builder at heart, so maybe I'm just not looking at it from the warmonger's POV.

Your comments please.

Early war can mean early victory with the right units and/or map. Even if you don't/can't take down all your foes, you'll usually get at least one or two (at the least), which also means another awesome city right in the beginning, since capitals usually have pretty good starting positions. And if you start next to someone with mysticism, you can wait till they found one of the first religions then nab the holy city/capital.

Of course, I like picking at my enemies too, if I can't crush them outright. You can get good coin in raiding, grab a worker or two, and seriously hamper your opponents early game economy, crippling them.

There can be lots of reasons to go to war early. Maybe they just smell funny...Any reason, whatever works ;)

Main reason that one of big human advantages compare to AI is human ability to plan and wage war. In short you will be exploting AI weakness.

Spav said:
I'm a newbie playing at Warlord level at the moment. I've seen several people here mention about going to war early. Why would you do that?

I'm a builder, so take my answers with a wife of salt.

The best city sites are capitals - on many maps, not only are the starting positions chosen from the best available, but they may also be "improved" from their random start. For example: