1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Wild Mana for FFH 2

Discussion in 'FfH2 Modmods, Scenarios, and Maps' started by Sephi, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. Doug Piranha

    Doug Piranha Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    USA
    ... but you can't sacrifice them in a city to build a stag cage, which is what I think he was asking.
     
  2. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    And what I was referring to, didn't notice that Gekko said lair. :lol:
     
  3. TowerWizard

    TowerWizard Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Not only the towns themselves, but every tile you use for production. A gobin archer sitting on you gold mine can be a pain to kill in the early to mid game, especially in a border town, which doesn't produce heavy units. Then, they pillage it. So you have to move your worker all the way to the back of your empire to rebuild the mine.

    Maybe one thing could be to have units stationed in forts cancel barbarian spawning within their sightrange. There is really no difference to this and to cities, when you think about it. Besides all the invisible people working the tiles in the city, but never mind them, they are peasants, right? Wait, what? Peasants stop barbarians spawning, but not soldiers???
     
  4. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    yeah, I screwed up. sorry :D
     
  5. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    The issue with the other method of spawning (Nowhere you can see) is you can then have just a few hawks hold down an ENTIRE CONTINENT. That said, Orbis and RifE allow forts to project Culture, which prevents their spawning.
     
  6. Afterthought_bt

    Afterthought_bt Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    First off, your soldiers do prevent them spawning - on the square they sit on... like the peasants stop them spawning on the squares they are working! :) :p

    The way I personally deal with it, is either with captured (and as they can't be upgraded, most expendable imo) animals, before finishing a survivor off with warriors/axemen etc. (depending on stage in game), and/or putting a unit on, say, the hill the gold mine is, and forcing the archer to attack, rather than attacking it.

    In general, if you're likely to lose a strong unit, then use another as cannon fodder, and finish off with the strong one. Combat promos give +20% each, so a warrior with all 5 promos should kill an archer, say, on neutral terrain.

    I gotta admit, I love it, personally, but maybe I'm weird! :D

    There is a 'tamed wilderness' option which lessens the barbs and animals that appear. You might prefer that? :)
     
  7. Avahz Darkwood

    Avahz Darkwood Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Behind You!!!!
    The best way to handle random barbarians that spawn in your culture (the worst are the dragons - gods I hate them, Sephi you must be the god of Chaos :D) and the mutant horde of stags:

    Hope this helps!!! :mischief::shifty::groucho:
     
  8. Sephi

    Sephi Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    long time no screenshot. Next Version will have the Gameoption "Noble Houses of Erebus". The noble Houses have some similarities to the Corporations in BTS, but will all have unique advantages.



     

    Attached Files:

  9. Neomega

    Neomega Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,261
    Neat! But is it random appearance.. or some kind of quest, a first to tech thing? More info please! :D

    also LoL at Avahz' screenshot.. I have a feeling that crashing the game with all those particle effects could stop spawning too.
     
  10. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    sounds great :D
     
  11. Sephi

    Sephi Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    so far it is tech only. Though it would be easy to add it to other events (declaring war, razing holy city, founding religion, etc.)

    The AI finally uses Tsunami now :D. Quite an interesting army (cultists for area damage + lots of throw away skeletons) the Calabim AI uses here to fight a civ twice as big

     

    Attached Files:

  12. Tholal

    Tholal Emperor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,676
    I notice in the Noble House description that it says it 'consumes' the listed resources. What does that mean?
     
  13. lumpthing

    lumpthing generic lump

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    Lumpinium, England
    I've just installed Wild Mana but, alas, I get errors whenever I load.

    Here's a screenshot of the first error that comes up. The others are like it.



    I tried deleting everything FFH, rebooted my computer, reinstalled FFH (with patch j) and then reinstalled Wild Mana but still no joy.

    Can anyone help? :(
     
  14. arstal

    arstal Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Or you could do what other mods do and get rid of hawks, which are pretty unpopular units.
     
  15. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    They're only unpopular because of the lack of automation, IMO. They can be useful... I don't see any reason to get rid of them OTHER than to prevent the taming of the continent. And I prefer the current "Barbs spawn unless the tile is within cultural borders" mechanic better than the old one, even removing hawks. ;)

    Edit: Also... What other mods? I don't know of one that has actually removed them as yet.
     
  16. Sephi

    Sephi Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    That you can trade this resources with other civs even if you already have one resource of them.

    A new version linked in first post

    Patch 6.51 (doesn't break saves)
    • fixed an issue with XML loading
    • Fix: Corlindale is Elohim only
    • Fix: Only Illians and Frozen have access to Winter Tech
     
  17. Sephi

    Sephi Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    a very nice feature from the BULL mod. Building Help now displays actual bonus.



     

    Attached Files:

  18. Sephi

    Sephi Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Patch 7.10 (break saves) linked in first post
    • Added modcomp Show hidden AI Attitude Values (via Gameoption) http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=335966
    • Building help will display actual effects, for example courthouse shows how much gold is saved from the lower maintenance (merged from recent BUG mod)
    • Fix Summoned Hyborem (for real now, tested)
    • Fix Rounding Error for feature Growth (ancient Forest mostly)
    • Fix WorldWonder University now requires Scholarship civic
    • noble House of Cannith is Unitcombat Adept and starts with channeling 1
    • Fix Pasture can be build on bonus Bison
    • temporary Fix: AI will never convert away from their favorite Religion (I had changed that recently but it seems it causes more issues than it helps)
    • AI_DIPLO_THANKS entries for a few leaders fixed (let me know if you find other problems with the diplo texts of the new leaders)
    • Fix Pirates won't spawn in Lanun Pirate Ports if Lanun are at war with Pirates
    • Rounding of City Production is now more logical. 1 hammer +20% is 1 (same as before) and 1 Hammer -20% is also 1 (was 0 before).
    • fix moved display of Flexible Difficulty Text (shouldn't interfere with scoreboard now)
    • fix a weird (and very rare) WoC
    • fix languages other than english will work (but missing translation)
    • fix Noble Houses of Erebus are tied correctly to their buildings
    • fix Shipyard building
    • more mana gameoption: Kuriotates start with creation mana instead of a second sun mana
     
  19. iceboy103

    iceboy103 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Red spot in city. Looks like city art bug?

     
  20. Sephi

    Sephi Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941

Share This Page