1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Will DLC kill RFC???

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by -Perceval-, May 9, 2010.

  1. -Perceval-

    -Perceval- Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Ok, firaxis anounced that there will be a deluxe edition of civilization 5 who include babilonian civ...no comments on the stupidity of the idea(sad because i respect firaxis a lot!).
    But how rhye will make a RFC if there will be downloadable civ(not free)?
    Some player will not have the babilonians, some yes. What will rhye do? A version of RFC for the rich player who can pay? Or a version of RFC for angry player who don't want to pay? Or two version what mean more work(and it can getting worse if they add more DLC civ)?

    Me i personnaly think that i am just going to say:



    F U C K T O D L C !!!!!
     
  2. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    There is RFC vanilla, RFC warlords, and RFC BTS, so I don't think it'll be too much of a problem.
     
  3. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    If modding is allowed, why can't you use graphics and such from the Babylonian civ in your mod (which is free). Common, who is going to pay for a just one extra civ?
     
  4. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    It depenps on how much. IMO Firaxis would be better off including as many civilizations as possible in the vanilla version. One civ isn't going to change much.
     
  5. CivOtaku

    CivOtaku Salmiac lover

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Satakunta, Finland
    Actually, what does this have to do with RFC? Unless I'm mistaken, RFC doesn't even have extra Civilizations.
     
  6. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    It has something to do with an hypothetical RFC for Civ 5 which everyone here would love to see.

    Most people here rather play Civ IV RFC than Civ V without RFC.

    To make a game as interesting as the current RFC BTS, there should be more civs added, because initial Civ V doesn't have as many civs as Civ IV BTS.

    I mean, can you imagine RFC without Spain???
     
  7. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Until BtS, RFC used all of the civs in the game. Babylon is going to present a huge problem for RFC.
     
  8. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,692
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I am actually more concerned about Spain. It's vital in a colonization scenario.

    And adding leaders will be even harder than Civ4:
    In civ2 all you had to do was adding a picture
    In civ3 there were four 3d models
    In civ4 there were a 3d model, many facial expressions, gestures and animated background
    In civ5 there will be a whole setting, such as a room, where the leader moves and speaks (in his own language).
     
  9. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Then we'll just need an expert on Akkadian and hieroglyphics.:D
     
  10. Danger Bird

    Danger Bird gravity's angel

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    North Pacific Ocean
    I wonder if it would be possible to just replace the leader screen with a picture and text (disable, or just not use, the full animation). I, for one, don't need it.
     
  11. Phil Ken Sebben

    Phil Ken Sebben Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Well, they claim Civ5 will be even more moddable than Civ4 (they claim that with every new installment, but I guess it's true) so there will probably be a way around the 3D full-room problem. Maybe it can be turned off?

    As for the Babylon/Spain problem - to keep the mod available to everyone, it would probably be best to use custom Civs modded by the community, rather than the official versions downloadable as DLC.
     
  12. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    I think the last thing that worries RFCers is a leader walking around his 3D setting :D
    A static picture or even flag works just as well for me, normally my interaction with other leaders lasts 2 seconds, and I am not even looking at them.

    You're mistaken, for example RFC Vanilla has Babylon while Civ4 Vanilla doesn't.
     
  13. ledat

    ledat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Quoted for truthery. At first I thought it was just going to be some lame scenario, but an entire Civ as zero day DLC is way too much. Of all the info about Civ V so far, this makes me least happy.

    Having said that, though, I completely agree with Onedreamer. Just a static 2d leaderhead is fine with me. In fact, consider the official Charlemagne mod that shipped with BTS; it used, except for Charlemagne himself, just a series of static images as leaderheads. That Eleanor wasn't a 3D model speaking Old Occitan or some such didn't detract from the experience.
     
  14. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    Maybe you could use video fragments of Isabella in a movie, for example 'Conquest of Paradise'.

    If you want 'native tongue', you could use the Spanish spoken version.
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,102
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    While interacting with a flag might be a bit too much, I don't need animated 3D leaderheads. More important to me is a coherent artistic style.

    See FFH for how it can be done.
     
  16. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    A static image works if the entire mod is consistent. Static image for a civ or two but full animated leader for the others does not work.
     
  17. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    I agree. But it would be temperarely a solution until Firaxis brings expansion packs with the missing civs, which is almost certain they will.

    Even non-RFC players would complain about a missing Spain.

    Anybody read this?

    EDIT: Yes, I'm quoting myself.

    2nd EDIT: For Stalin, Roosevelt or any other 20th century leader it would be cool to use actual footage.
    I would also like to see a Hitler for Germany if they adopt something like Police State if Civ 5 still uses civics.
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,102
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    Well, little hindrances such as copyright aside, I wouldn't want to have movie excerpts next to real historical footage next to user created graphics. Having no consistent art style is confusing, and considering how strict Rhye was with user created LHs, it's not likely to happen anyway.

    Containing actual Hitler footage would make the mod borderline illegal in Germany, depending on the depiction (and you can't really make a point about RFC being "historical education" ;)). And I obviously don't want to be excluded :)
     
  19. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Are the police really gonna jail you because you downloaded a mod that had Hitler in it? It's not like a download site is going to say "your in Germany, so you can't download this". Only China and the music and movies industries do that.
     
  20. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    So you can't watch WW2 documentaries in Germany?

    Then Germany is still kinda fascist.
     

Share This Page