1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Will there be Rhye's and Fall of Civilization 6?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Creation & Customization' started by Genghis Khaiser, Jul 9, 2016.

  1. Genghis Khaiser

    Genghis Khaiser Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    RFC was/is a great mod for Civ4, but it is a shame that RFC for Civ5 was cancelled. Not even a non-official version was released (non-official as in not made by Rhye), the closest to it being a compilation of mods in Steam. If I get Civ6, I hope there is a mod like that.


    BTW, I would like a map large enough to handle Amsterdam and Brussels at the same time without having to make Europe larger.
     
    PeterChu likes this.
  2. Mustakrakish

    Mustakrakish In 'Node' We Trust

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Grainvillage, Finland
    ...I don't know

    EDIT: ...and yet I comment again. Damn it, what is wrong with me today...
     
  3. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,944
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    I hope Rhys will re-create it, but it all truly depends on how the devs manage the back-end for the modders.
     
  4. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,956
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Rhye's for Civ5 was cancelled because the modding possibilities of Civ5 were far too limited compared to Civ4. We don't know anything about modding in Civ6 yet.
     
  5. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,101
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    I agree, as a Belgian, I also want Antwerpen and Brugge, two historically important cities on the map.
     
  6. Thormodr

    Thormodr Servant of Civ Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,797
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    RFC and FFH2 made cIV even more awesome. My two favourite mods by far. :love:

    Their lack made Civilization 5 that much poorer. :sad:

    I do hope that we'll at least have RFC make a return for Civ VI. Hopefully it will be a lot more mod friendly. :)
     
  7. lp_04

    lp_04 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Leiria, Portugal
    I really hope RFC is introduced in civ VI. It was the best game I have ever played (and still play sometimes)
     
  8. Haig

    Haig Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945
    Location:
    Finland
    I think Earth maps in general were more dull in Civ 5, as the maps became huge traffic jams, as two archers took more space from an peninsula than a whole city. And cities were way too powerful gun turrets one- or two-shotting whole units.

    I'm very happy about the unstacked cities of Civ 6 as the battles are probably spread out more.
     
  9. skyclad

    skyclad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Yes it really means something that so many people still remember that mod after all these years!
    I really really hope we get another version in civ 6!

    However expanding europe is simply a must on a rhyes map. If europe was "big enough" than the rest of the world would be humongous.
     
  10. Krajzen

    Krajzen Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,138
    Location:
    Poland
    I didn't play civ4. What were the elements of Rhye's mod? Earth map, historical starting dates, plagues, revolutions? All those things were created in separate mods at some point of civ5.
     
  11. rastak

    rastak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,475
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have to admit it was kind of cool. It's been a LONG time but as I recall civs would appear along a somewhat historical timeline. I'm sure someone else has all the details but I recall it was really well done, like Fall From Heaven.
     
  12. skyclad

    skyclad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Very special earth map where some places had tons of tight resources and some had unremovable unimprovable jungle. Europe was expanded to fit more civs (Portugal, Spain, France, England, Rome/Italy, Germany, Vikings, Russia, Greece, Netherlands, Ottomans are a lot to fit).
    Starting dates where you would adopt the game situation left to you from previous turns, including flipping citites.
    Most of all unique historical victory conditions. Like Arabia had to control 3 holy shrines and historical area (middle east, north africa and spain) by a certain date, as well as spread islam to a certain % of the world. Where instead for example a civ like Inca had to collect lots of gold and protect south america from european settlers. Or India had to found 5 religions and have the largest pop in the world.

    Also certain scripted historical events and respawn of old nations if another unstable civ occupies their core territory. Expansion penalties for settling cities outside of your historical area (= portugal settles Brazil and Spain rest of America for example). Human player can bypass it if he is brave and has a stable empire but keeps the AI going to the right locations (and player too most of the time). Also cities had the proper names for the nation and tile where it was founded.

    Lots of details like this put together in one nice mod :)
     
  13. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Was there ever a mod that allowed spawning new civs that weren't in at the start of the game? That was a key feature of Rhye's to simulate things like American independence or the rise of other empires that weren't existent during antiquity.
     
  14. moopoo

    moopoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Off the top of my head:

    Earth map
    Historical start dates, and the possibility of previous destroyed civs to reemerge
    Historical (Dynamic) City names
    Historical Dynamic nation names based on government type
    Unique Historical Victory conditions
    Plague
    Revolution, including Civil war, tied to the new game mechanic stability, with its own Civics branch
    Dynamic Civ Leaders, Based on year (So America Started with Washington, Moved to Lincoln, Ended with FDR)
    I'm pretty sure there was a fair chunk of Custom AI in there as well
     
  15. need my speed

    need my speed Rex Omnium Imperarium

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,985
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    European Union (Magna Batavia)
    Neither Civilization V nor Civilization VI could support this style of game, I would say. Which is why Civilization IV remains the best civilisation game for me; it deals with world-spanning empires, not with medieval fiefdoms and holdfasts, scalewise.

    RFC is basically the world's history. Civilisations rise and fall when they did in history, events (plagues, wars) happen when they did in history, the AI behaves as its civilisation did at that time in history... It's not so black-white, of course, but look here.
     
  16. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,944
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Because of the 1upt? You also don't know how Civ 6 actually plays and you're making this assumption.

    I find that Civ 5 to be more than capable (from game mechanics themselves) to support this. Especially since in Civ 5's late life span we've seen mods such as Vox Populi which have really made the game so much better, stack on thop of that the RFC mechanics and I think it would totally work.
     
  17. need my speed

    need my speed Rex Omnium Imperarium

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,985
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    European Union (Magna Batavia)
    One unit per tile is a very big factor, yes. Earth maps don't work on the required scale. VI worsens this by adding districts.

    Yes, we don't know, technically, but I saw this coming long before Civilization V was released as well, and I found myself being proven right.
     
  18. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,944
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    On what grounds? RFC failed because of modding limitations, not because of 1upt.
     
  19. need my speed

    need my speed Rex Omnium Imperarium

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,985
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    European Union (Magna Batavia)
    Right then, show me an Earth map in which all those European nations can comfortably fight wars and control a few cities, that would run on most PC's - so not really GEM territory - and that, as such, doesn't turn the rest of the world into a huge void of nothingness.

    A random picture.

    How are you going to simulate all of Europe when you can hardly fit in one city per civilisation, especially accounting for districts? How is anyone going to wage a war against Italy, for example? How is the Netherlands supposed to have an army? Or Portugal?
     
  20. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,944
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Use a Giant Earth Map? We had one in Civ 5 (I believe Ynemp had one) :lol:
     

Share This Page