1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Will Vox Populi be Mac compatible?

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Skedesvamp, May 8, 2016.

  1. Skedesvamp

    Skedesvamp Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hi guys, quick question
    Will the final version be available on Mac?
     
  2. pandasnail

    pandasnail Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    535
    No. DLLs can't be.
     
  3. Skedesvamp

    Skedesvamp Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Does that mean that the final version won't be on Steam Workshop?
     
  4. Putmalk

    Putmalk Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    New York
    It could be. But Mac users can't use it, only PC can.
     
  5. merill

    merill Prince

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    France
    more specifically: macOS can't launch it, only windows can.
     
  6. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,026
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    You would need to use Wine to emulate a windows environment in order to use DLLs (I recently did this for my wife for Stardew Valley so that she can use my mac laptop while I work on my PC!).

    G
     
  7. satorarepo

    satorarepo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Does using Wine hurt performance?
     
  8. Gothic_Empire

    Gothic_Empire AKA, Ramen Empire

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Aren't modpacks mac compatible?
     
  9. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,026
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    A little, but Aspyr's Civ 5 port is essentially an emulation, so its probably not a notable difference.

    Not if they have DLLs.

    G
     
  10. Workerspam

    Workerspam Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    324
    I ended up setting up a Bootcamp partition for Windows 8 on my iMac (it's just old enough that Windows 10 isn't compatible) for the sole purpose of being able to try out this Mod. Took a little tweaking (had to lower some map and leader graphics settings as higher settings caused the game to CTD) but has been absolutely worth it, game runs fine and VP makes this the Civ experience I wanted it to be.
     

Share This Page