1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[WINE] Crash when selecting Play Scenario or Custom Scenario

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by Angst, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. Angst

    Angst Rambling and inconsistent

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    13,158
    Location:
    A Silver Mt. Zion
    Hi, I'm having trouble playing Civilization IV - Beyond the Sword 3.19. I'm playing a Steam "Complete" installation, through Steam. The game works perfectly in all respects, except when playing custom maps. I can play mods easily, for example, everything works there. But when I choose the "Play Scenario" or "Custom Scenario" buttons, the game simply exits.

    Adding to the complexity layers, I'm playing the game on Ubuntu Linux with a Wine configuraiton. I've followed all instructions to make it function there. It seems to be a directory problem.

    (Here's the CivilizationIV.ini that I tangled with to make work.)

    Code:
    [CONFIG]
    
    ; Allow Mouse Scrolling in Windowed mode
    MouseScrolling = 0
    
    ; Enable Trilinear Filtering for the Minimap
    MinimapTrilinearFilter = 1
    
    ; Enable Tree Region Cutting
    CutTrees = 1
    
    ; A non-zero value overrides the FIELD_OF_VIEW parameter from GlobalDefines.xml
    FIELD_OF_VIEW = 0
    
    ; Allow Camera Flying
    AllowFlying = 0
    
    ; Don't show minimum specification warnings
    HideMinSpecWarning = 0
    
    ; Random seed for map generation, or '0' for default
    MapRandSeed = 0
    
    ; Random seed for game sync, or '0' for default
    SyncRandSeed = 0
    
    ; Email address from which Pitboss reminder emails are sent
    PitbossEmail = 0
    
    ; SMTP server authentication login for Pitboss reminder emails
    PitbossSMTPLogin = 0
    
    ; SMTP server for Pitboss reminder emails
    PitbossSMTPHost = 0
    
    ; Number of seconds to accept live game list updates from GameSpy (-1 for initial snapshot only, 0 for no live updates
    GameUpdateTime = 10
    
    ; Bandwidth options are modem or broadband
    Bandwidth = broadband
    
    ; QuickStart - SinglePlayer games only!
    QuickStart = 0
    
    ; Dont show the game background during movies - may speed up movie playing
    HideMovieBackground = 0
    
    ; Enable/disable background music
    PlayMusic = 1
    
    ; Allows some memory savings *** ALT-TAB WILL NO LONGER FUNCTION ***
    MemSaver = 0
    
    ; Use managed interface textures (may be safer but shouldn't be needed, uses more memory)
    GUIManagedTextures = 0
    
    ; file format (TGA,JPG,BMP), Warning: TGA requires a lockable buffer which can lower performance
    ScreenShot Format = JPG
    
    ; Enable voice over IP capture and playback
    EnableVoice = 0
    
    ; App Selects Specific IP to use for Multiplayer
    SelectIP = 0
    
    ; Disable PAK memory mapping (May affect performance)
    DisablePAKMemoryMapping = 0
    
    ; Don't skip frames if falling behind
    BinkNoSkip = 1
    
    ; Copy entire image each frame, not just dirty pixels
    BinkCopyAll = 1
    
    ; Show movies using hi-color, not true-color (may be faster)
    Bink16Bit = 0
    
    ; Copy ever other scanline during movie playback (faster)
    BinkInterlace = 0
    
    ; Specify whether to play in fullscreen mode 0/1/ask
    FullScreen = 0
    
    ; Set max frame rate clamp (0 means none)
    SetMaxFrameRate = 0
    
    ; Set to 1 to put PitBoss to sleep when no players are connected
    PitBossSleep = 1
    
    ; Set to 1 to page units out when non-visible
    DynamicUnitPaging = 1
    
    ; Set to 1 to page unit anims out when the unit is non visible
    DynamicAnimPaging = 1
    
    ; Set to 1 for no on-screen event messages
    NoEventMessages = 0
    
    ; Set to 1 for no tech splash screens
    NoTechSplash = 0
    
    ; Set to 1 for no intro movie
    NoIntroMovie = 1
    
    ; Set to 1 for no python exception popups
    HidePythonExceptions = 1
    
    ; The maximum number of autosaves kept in the directory before being deleted.
    MaxAutoSaves = 5
    
    ; Specify the number of turns between autoSaves.  0 means no autosave.
    AutoSaveInterval = 4
    
    ; Enable Audio
    AudioEnable = 1
    
    ; English(0),French(1),German(2),Italian(3),Spanish(4) - Defaults to user-installed language
    Language = 0
    
    ; Determines which user profile is loaded on game start
    UserProfile = Default Profile
    
    ; Sync input to smooth interface (may run slower)
    SyncInput = 0
    
    ; Force numlock always on while playing
    ForceNumlock = 0
    
    ; Disable caching of file system (may slow initialization)
    DisableFileCaching = 1
    
    ; Disable caching of xml and file system (may slow initialization)
    DisableCaching = 1
    
    ; Specify a Mod folder (Mods\Mesopotamia), '0' for none
    Mod = 0
    
    [GAME]
    
    ; Map Script file name
    Map = Earth2
    
    ; GameType options are singlePlayer/spLoad
    GameType = singlePlayer
    
    ; Pitboss Turn Time
    PitbossTurnTime = 0
    
    ; Max number of turns (0 for no turn limit)
    MaxTurns = 0
    
    ; Game Options
    GameOptions = 000000000000000000000000
    
    ; Victory Conditions
    VictoryConditions = 1111111
    
    ; Handicap for quick play
    QuickHandicap = HANDICAP_MONARCH
    
    ; GameSpeed options are GAMESPEED_QUICK/GAMESPEED_NORMAL/GAMESPEED_EPIC/GAMESPEED_MARATHON
    GameSpeed = GAMESPEED_NORMAL
    
    ; Era options are ERA_ANCIENT/ERA_CLASSICAL/ERA_MEDIEVAL/ERA_RENAISSANCE/ERA_INDUSTRIAL/ERA_MODERN
    Era = ERA_ANCIENT
    
    ; Sealevel options are SEALEVEL_LOW/SEALEVEL_MEDIUM/SEALEVEL_HIGH
    SeaLevel = SEALEVEL_MEDIUM
    
    ; Climate options are CLIMATE_ARID/CLIMATE_TEMPERATE/CLIMATE_TROPICAL
    Climate = CLIMATE_ROCKY
    
    ; Worldsize options are WORLDSIZE_DUEL/WORLDSIZE_TINY/WORLDSIZE_SMALL/WORLDSIZE_STANDARD/WORLDSIZE_LARGE/WORLDSIZE_HUGE
    WorldSize = WORLDSIZE_STANDARD
    
    ; Game Name
    GameName = joakim's Game
    
    ; Save Path - relative to working (Civ4) folder
    FileName = 0
    
    ; Account Username
    Nickname = 0
    
    ; Email Address
    Email = joakim
    
    ; DirectIP Host Address
    DirectIP = 0
    
    ; In-game Alias
    Alias = joakim
    
    ; Modular XML Loading
    ModularLoading = 1
    
    ; Main Menu Mods
    MainMenuMods = Afterworld;Broken Star;Charlemagne;Crossroads of the World;Defense;FfH Age of Ice;Final Frontier;Gods of Old;MesoAmerica;Next War;Rhye's and Fall of Civilization;The Road to War
    
    ; Move along
    CheatCode = chipotle
    
    [DEBUG]
    
    ; Number of turns to autorun before exit (0 for no limit)
    AutorunTurnLimit = 0
    
    ; Set App on Auto-Run
    Autorun = 0
    
    ; Enable D3D9 Queries
    D3D9Query = 1
    
    ; Custom Screen Height, minimum: 768 - Normal resolutions can be set in-game and will be used when set to 0
    ScreenHeight = 768
    
    ; Custom Screen Width, minimum: 1024 - Normal resolutions can be set in-game and will be used when set to 0
    ScreenWidth = 1024
    
    ; Establish connection to Python Debugger
    HAPDebugger = 0
    
    ; NetComm Port
    Port = 2056
    
    ; Create a dump file if the application crashes
    GenerateCrashDumps = 0
    
    ; Enable the logging system
    LoggingEnabled = 0
    
    ; Enable synchronization logging
    SynchLog = 0
    
    ; Overwrite old network and message logs
    OverwriteLogs = 0
    
    ; Enable rand event logging
    RandLog = 0
    
    ; Enable message logging
    MessageLog = 0
    
    ; Break on memory allocation order #
    BreakOnAlloc = -1
    
    EDIT: Found a .log file containing a Python error. Attaching it now. It might be it after all?
    Renamed it from .log to .txt.
     
  2. IPEX-731BA5DD06

    IPEX-731BA5DD06 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,741
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Did you ever consider that steam doesn't have a copy of the custom map, and as such, it won't run it. Custom maps can have certain resources not in the games coding (Coregame??) just a suggestion, it might not be possible at all.
     
  3. Angst

    Angst Rambling and inconsistent

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    13,158
    Location:
    A Silver Mt. Zion
    Thanks for the reply but it crashes when I press the Play Scenario button itself; not when I actually choose a scenario after entering that menu.

    Steam has the scenarios tho. I know this because it worked when I used Windows.
     
  4. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,696
    You can put new scenarios into the folder and play them in Linux, so I know you can use them lol.

    I think it's DLL related, though I'm not sure which one under WineHQ is the one relevant in this case.

    Oddly, I still get the issue on occasion...EXCEPT if you start a game or load a game, then go back to the main menu without quitting civ, it will let you play a custom scenario...even things saved there like Immortal University or Noble's Club. That sounds strange, but could probably help source the problem especially if it behaves this way for you also.
     
  5. MalayanGamer

    MalayanGamer Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    which log file?
     

Share This Page