1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

winning without rushing?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by LaRo, Jan 8, 2002.

1. LaRo

LaRo Dead Rat

I think killing your population for hurrying your production is immoral.
    Is it possible to win at high level (deity) without rushing?

2. Shaitan

Shaitan der Besucher

Anything is possible...

I agree with you. I dislike whipping my subjects to death in order to compete. Unfortunately, my entire civ tends to get wiped out if I don't do this in the early stages of the game. Don't think of it as killing your people, think of it as encouraging them to make the ultimate sacrifice to ensure the future of their civilization.

3. BillChin

BillChin Chieftain

I am sure it is possible, though I am a newbie.

As for life without slave camps, I posted my method, which I call the "magic square" under the thread Fast Build out.

Basically, build the first batch of cities two to four squares from the capital, depending on terrain. The name magic square means that on flat grassland, the optimal placement is two squares diagonal from the capital at the corners that the capital can not access. At this distance there is no loss of produciton. The magic square is almost fast as slave camps for the early build.

One good thing about the magic square is it creates a small area that can be defended well against an early expansionist. If need be, build walls and even warriors make decent defenders and spearmen are almost impossible to take out.

It is still a necessity to have a weak opponent nearby to claim all their land with an early military. Hopefully when you make peace, they will give you all their tech and you have a fighting chance.