[WIP] The Viking Age for BNW Scenario

Craig_Sutter

Deity
map.gif

This is a mod that I have been working on, off and on, for about 4 years through various iterations of Civ V. However, the scenario actually has a much longer history... I played a solo variation of it from Civ III at the beginning. With Civ IV, I returned to the concept when the Medieval Mod for Civ IV was initiated. I had a part in the Medieval Mod's creation and incorporated elements of that mod, notably the tech tree with some variation, in two scenarios that I had developed, one of which was the Viking Age. My scenario was fairly well received at that time though the Medieval Mod itself collapsed with various of its creators moving on... it was never updated for Beyond the Sword and is almost never played (although I have the files for the Civ IV version if anyone asks).

Then on came Civ V... I was very happy to learn that Civ IV maps could be converted to Civ V. I am inordinately proud of the map I made for the Viking age :) . So I set about converting the map and using some of the broader ideas that were introduced in the Civ IV version.

The Scenario runs from 500 AD to 1235 AD, 1500 turns. As yet, I only have Domination and point victories set.

Currently, the game is very playable. I have tested it extensively. I would consider it about 80% finished. There are a number of text entries that need to be finished. As well, changes need to be made to some game elements such as the league of nations and cultural victories et. al. to make them more fitting to the Medieval theme. I also need to rework the Science victory and work on some custom victories to add to the Scenario flavor. As well, though extensive testing has been done using Autoplay, balance may need to be worked on... I am hoping player input will assist in this.

There are 19 civs on the map. They include, in alphabetical order...