1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

With Civ VI around the corner, how many hours total do you have?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Kevin J, Oct 7, 2016.

?

How many hours have you played Civ V?

  1. 0-100

    1 vote(s)
    1.9%
  2. 100-250

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 250-500

    3 vote(s)
    5.8%
  4. 500-1,000

    7 vote(s)
    13.5%
  5. 1,000-2,000

    14 vote(s)
    26.9%
  6. 2,000-4,000

    13 vote(s)
    25.0%
  7. 4,000-6,000

    7 vote(s)
    13.5%
  8. 6,000-8,000

    4 vote(s)
    7.7%
  9. 8,000-10,000

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  10. Over 10,000 hours

    3 vote(s)
    5.8%
  1. Kevin J

    Kevin J Hewer of Wood

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    A recent post on the Civilization facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/civ/posts/10154423119100359) asked how many hours do you have playing Civ V.

    I know we had a thread here years ago on this topic, but with the years passed, and Civ VI due in two weeks, it is time for this again. Old poll responses are out of date ... but now that the new Civ is coming, and Firaxis is asking the question, so too should the CivFanatics answer:

    How many hours have you played Civ V? Answer the poll, and if you wish say exactly how many hours, post a screenshot, or link to your Steam profile.

    I hope there is someone here with more hours than me (currently 11,020 hours according to Steam) ... but this is the CivFanatics site, I know one of you has to top this!

    Spoiler :


    upload_2016-10-7_17-1-44.png

     
  2. aafritz17

    aafritz17 Moderator Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I have just over half of yours - 5,521.

    (Shhh - don't tell my wife!)
     
  3. BigChiefLizzy

    BigChiefLizzy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    UK
    7,200 but the game has been out years. (and that's my excuse), glad hours spent on Civ 1/2/3/4 call to power etc are not recorded as well.....
     
  4. pholtz

    pholtz King

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    California
    Guess I don't play much, only 2400, and some of that time is the game running while I'm afk for quite a while
     
  5. Iamteehee

    Iamteehee I only play SV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    MN
    You guys make me feel bad. 667 hours
     
  6. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    2872 hours
     
  7. dasaard200

    dasaard200 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    A mere 5800 hours for a mods test-driver, who STILL can't get EUI or other 'advanced' mods to download properly .
     
  8. MarauderCH

    MarauderCH Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    6914 hours
     
  9. tide15

    tide15 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    114
  10. I_Aye_Eye

    I_Aye_Eye Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    Steam shows 1,515 hours played. I play on Marathon or Epic, so not too many games played.
     
  11. vadalaz

    vadalaz Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    3627 here
     
  12. finminer

    finminer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I have 5300 hours, but somehow my clock got restarted at some point. So I know it's more, probably in the 7500 hours range. But hell, I still play Civ I every now and then.
     
  13. gooberman

    gooberman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Florida
    1974

    I thought I was bad. Wow! you guys are ridiculous!

    All the more reason I'll buy civ 6 when it comes out. I know I'll get my money out of it eventually.

    Oh wait... CivBE....... crap
     
  14. docbud

    docbud Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    People actually keep track of this stuff?
     
  15. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,887
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Steam does it for you, but that number will be wrong if, for example, you regularly play off-line or, at the other extreme, leave the game running when you go to sleep.
     
  16. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    Or if you started playing from Civilization's initial release. :old:
     
  17. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Gender:
    Male
    I play when I'm asleep, but Steam doesn't know!

    Seriously, I have had civ dreams :wow:
     
  18. MarauderCH

    MarauderCH Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    My total is run up because I'll start playing a game in the morning, play for a bit, and then go do stuff. So it can be sitting there for a while and while I am not actually playing, it is still counting my hours. But I do play a lot...
     
  19. CIVLOYALIST

    CIVLOYALIST Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Just I saw OP's screen capture, relates my mind to CIV6 installation. Are we distributed with a download version of a disc version if I get the box from retail shop downtown or from Amazon for instance? Or we only have the only choice of Steam?

    I always prefer a disc installation. Don't mind downloading patches later from Steam or other online resources.
     
  20. BigChiefLizzy

    BigChiefLizzy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    UK
    If you buy from Amazon or a retail shop you will get a disc DVD(*) version and then download patches, other online sources I am not sure about. With Steam no media/discs will be provided so it's download only for the entire game.

    *Unless you buy from Amazon UK apparently, we get it on CD ROM (so only 15-20 CDs), but it runs on Windows 98 / 2000 / 7 / XP / ME. I think they need to update the description :)
     

Share This Page