Won't launch - "Missing Executable"? M1 Mac

Discussion in 'Humankind - General Discussions' started by fotonut, Aug 17, 2021.

  1. fotonut

    fotonut Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Purchased and downloaded Humankind on a M1 Mac. Launching fails with "missing executable" error, and indeed, the executable it refers to isn't in that folder. Uninstalled and downloaded again, and did the various other suggestions, but no luck.

    Anyone have Humankind working on an M1 Mac? Or any Mac for that matter?

    I have Civ VI on this same machine in Steam, and that works fine.
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Super Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    34,651
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
  3. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,461
    Location:
    Lucerne
    Hey @fotonut
    Sadly, the game is not released yet for mac, it will come in a few weeks. I guess it's an oversight or bug that you are able to install it at all.
     
  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Super Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    34,651
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
  5. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,461
    Location:
    Lucerne
    Yes, it will be sorted.
     
    The_J likes this.
  6. fotonut

    fotonut Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Ugh... Thank you both! And indeed, when I look a little deeper, I see an article in Steam from Aug 3 saying that the Mac version is postponed a month. Too bad Steam still takes my money and goes thru the motions of downloading the app, just to fail in a mysterious way, rather than telling me up front - especially since I did the purchase on a Mac. The "small" 170MB download also seemed too good to be true. I expect the game to be a much larger download.

    I'll send a note, and in the meantime have Old World to tide me over.
     
    The_J likes this.
  7. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Super Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    34,651
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    @fotonut apparently the Mac version is supposed to become available today.
     
    fotonut likes this.
  8. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,461
    Location:
    Lucerne
    Yes and no. The mac version that is/has been released today is only a beta. And as far as I know, the version is only for Intel Macs and not M1s.
     
    The_J likes this.
  9. fotonut

    fotonut Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Intel binaries normally just run on M1 Macs just fine, often even faster than they do on Intel…
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2021
  10. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Super Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    34,651
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
  11. fotonut

    fotonut Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks again. Sadly my refund request got rejected (for the second time, since I had also tried early on, but right after the two-week deadline). I followed the link as described in the article, but couldn't exactly find a "Product Issue" category, so I went with "It doesn't work on my operating system."

    Anyone manage to get a refund from Steam for the Mac version of Humankind?
     

Share This Page