Wood/Jungle capitals

FaceUnderMask

Warlord
Hey guys/girls.

I haven't played much since times before G&K, but recently I play with my friends quite often on weekends.

Usually I'm a warmonger/land developer type, but this time I got France and decided to go for culture/wonderbuilding. Trouble is, I got bad terrain this time. It was all forests on riverside, just south of tundra.

My gambit:
Monument
Scout
Shrine
Worker
Tradition -> Aristocracy
Second pantheon -> Monument to the gods

At that point I've realised how foolish this was.
Surrounded by forest means low on food.
Low on food means low on population.
Low on population means you can't shift everyone from food to hammers.
I've been stuck with 25-29 turns to build any ancient era wonder.

At that very time my friend, while getting somewhat of a mediocre start at the plains riverside, with marble, with liberty, managed to build a plenty of early wonders - GL, mausoleus, pyramids some time later, while another friend with another mediocre start managed to rush HG.

So, bottom line - start in woods/jungle looks like a disaster to me right now.
I'd like you to point me at my mistakes, and tell me how it's done.
I've tried to go for lumbermills, but if you are low on population then you won't make use of it anyway. Another thing is that any forest resourse tiles take much longer to improve since you have to chop forest. If you need production badly, then why not, but what if you need food or happiness just as much badly?

Should have I foregone early religion?
Probably Monument->Scout->Granary->Worker,
or even Monument->Scout->Worker->Granary,
or maybe Monument->Worker->Granary?
Remove forest at riverside and build farms as quickly as possible?

How you would've done in my stead?
Sadly, can't retrieve a screenshot. So consider the following start condition:
Capital, riverside, not a hill
Wheat
Hill, unforested
1 Silk (forested)
1 Spice
anything else is forest, 3 of which is forested hills.
Emperor difficulty.