1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Workers, Settlers and Scientists

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Unit Graphics' started by ShiroKobbure, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
    This thread will be for Workers, Settlers and Scientists. Basically non-combat units.
    All workers and settlers use Plotinus's animations

    Ancient Japanese Settler

    Download

    Ancient Japanese Worker

    Download

    Medieval Japanese Settler

    Download

    Medieval Japanese Worker

    Download

    Aborigani Worker

    Download

    Ancient Egyptian Worker

    Download

    Ancient Egyptian Worker, version 2

    Download

    Hopi Settler

    Download

    Inca Settler

    Download

    Inca Worker

    Download

    Khmer Settler

    Download

    Khmer Worker

    Download

    Qing Settler

    Download

    Qing Worker

    Download

    Industrial Worker

    Download

    Industrial Workers

    Download

    Mexican Worker

    Download

    Modern Japanese Worker

    Download

    North Korean Worker

    Download

    Modern Arab Worker

    Download

    Modern Black Worker


    Download

    Modern Generic Worker

    Download

    Modern Workman

    Download

    POW

    Download
     
  2. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
  3. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
  4. Lionic

    Lionic King

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Shiro, archive with Qing worker contains files of Qing Settler.

    EDIT. Either you've fixed it or I did something wrong, thank you in any case.
    EDIT2. Same trouble with missing Medieval Japanese worker.
     
  5. Balthasar

    Balthasar Wise Man

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,291
    Great collection, Shiro! I've already downloaded the Qing worker and Mexican worker for the WIP Old West Mod.
     
  6. Vuldacon

    Vuldacon Dedicated to Excellence Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    6,469
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
  7. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
    Both should be fixed.

    I had the Old West Mod in mind when I made them. ;)
     
  8. 96nn

    96nn Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Changchun, China
    So nice and beautiful works!
     
  9. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,928
    Shiro, thank you very much for all your wonderful units of civilians (may it be your monks and holy men or these workers and settlers). :thanx:
    Many of them will be used in the next version of CCM. :)
     
  10. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,879
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    Thank you so much, Shiro! The Japanese, Qing, & Inca are very welcome and needed additions to the settler/worker ranks. :thumbsup:
     
  11. ST4LIN

    ST4LIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Very useful units, thanks!
     
  12. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
  13. Ares de Borg

    Ares de Borg Norman Knight

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Heart Of Europe
    Absolutely outstanding work! In my mod they go! Oh, does anybody know if we have similar units for Vietnam?
     
  14. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,928
    Shiro, I think nobody has just tested this (including me), but my guess is, that this is not possible. Reason: There can only one unit be set in the general settings as "battlecreated" leader. So "battlecreated" is not "AI created", the scientific-flag is a part of this leader setting. But as said - this is only a guess.

    What is possible and done in some mods, is to set the SGL to eraspecific units. Aristoteles and Galileo are now somewhat outdated. Einstein and Hawking are also old, but in my eyes in a better condition.

    On the other side it´s the question, if it is worth that effort, as the SGL appears in the capital and will not be moved on the map to do his duty.
     
  15. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
    I see, that's too bad.
    Does that also mean that you cannot have civ specific army leaders?
     
  16. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,331
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    You can't have civ-specific Leaders, be they scientific or battle-created.

    The army which is made by this unit is also not civ-specific.

    You can give each civ specific armies which are built in cities with a Military Academy or other such wonders.

    Civ-specific leaders (scientific and other) of course do have a use - regionalised scenarios could definitely benefit from them, and they are an often-overlooked part of the aesthetic. :)
     
  17. Rathvilly

    Rathvilly Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Shiro - great units. Was using the Industrial worker - the icons (lg and sm) display with a pink background. Is this a palette issue - tried my limited skills but still can't correct.
     
  18. ST4LIN

    ST4LIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    yes it's a pallete problem and an easy fix. I used the Incan worker and the Large and Small icons also have the pallete problem, so I assume it's a problem for all?
    Here the instruction for using the simple and free irfanview http://www.irfanview.com/

    -open the Large icon pcx with irfanview
    -image/pallete/edit pallete
    -the bottom right first 2 color boxes are the invisible colour layers
    -change these 2 colors by double clicking and choosing a bright colour (usually pink and neon green)
    -Click OK NOTE: this will change the background to the bright colour
    -Image/Pallete/Export to save this corrected pallete, give it a name of your choice, example workerpallete.pal
    -Close irfanview without saving, we just wanted the correct pallete
    -REopen the Large pcx icon file
    -Image/Increase Color Depth/
    -16,7 million colors [24 BPP] should be selected CLICK OK
    -Image/pallete/Import Pallete
    -load the corrected workerpallete.pal
    -Now save the corrected Large ICON .pcx file MAke sure you save it as a .pcx file and not a .jpg
    -Image/Resize
    -Note: Choose Resize[faster, lower quality] for Size Method otherwise it will resize it to 24 BPP
    -Change to 32x32
    -Save as the SMALL ICON .pcx file

    DONE for both Large and Small
     
  19. Rathvilly

    Rathvilly Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Thanks - I'll try this out ....
     
  20. ST4LIN

    ST4LIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    I added an extra step for the Resizing, because the default for irfanview is to resize it and change it to 24bpp, civ3 always works with 8bpp.
     

Share This Page