1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

World age question

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Lose, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. Lose

    Lose King

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    What are the differences between world ages? I assumed its based on resources and terrain but I am not sure.

    heres my guess..
    3 billion years = less future era resources, more ancient era resources
    4 billion = equal amounts of all era resources
    5 billion = more future era resources and less ancient era resources
     
  2. spider1

    spider1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    3 billions years - more mountains and hills
    4 billion - normal
    5 billion less mountains and hills

    I'm not sure if it does anything to resources.
     
  3. Lose

    Lose King

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    where did u find this information??
     
  4. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,856
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Well, that's what what world age did in previous civ games, so it wouldn't be unthinkable it'd be the same here.

    The older, the more eroded, basically.
     
  5. Misterboy

    Misterboy Modern Major General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    This is pretty much how it's worked since the dawn of Civilization. :mischief:

    The idea behind it is an extremely simplified model of our planet's geological history. As our planet has cooled to its current state, there are far fewer mountains being formed, and with time, glaciers and other forms of erosion have tended to flatten landscapes over millenia.

    Like many parts of the UI, it could use a mouse-over to help out newer players.
     
  6. Becomedeath

    Becomedeath The Destroyer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Channel Islands

    Whilst I'm sure in game this may be correct, geologically, it's in reverse. An older planet would have more mountainous terrain. Mount Everest, after all, isn't getting shorter!

    Unless the rain and wind on Civ planets is exceptionally fierce!

    Oddly, a pangea should have few or no mountain ranges at all other than glacial.
    due to the lack of tectonic movement.

    But then it's not Sim Earth is it :)
     
  7. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,158
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    True, but it isn't old either, it's only a toddler, geologically speaking.

    To be honest, I'd wondered about world age too.
     
  8. King_Course

    King_Course Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Ehhh....? The ressources we use didnt' show up at the same time we invented machinery that could use these ressources :).

    Oil is Fossil Fuels. Organic matter turned into polymers millions and millions of years ago. 1.7 billion years ago Uranium was driving a natural nuclear reactor in Oklo Africa.
     
  9. KaiserKevin

    KaiserKevin Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    It has to do with mountains and hills (younger more), they really ought to make it more clear.
     
  10. Becomedeath

    Becomedeath The Destroyer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Maybe, on a young enough map, Krakatoa is within sight of the coast!

    (Pet complaint, sorry for sneaking it in there!) :lol:
     
  11. buchengshi

    buchengshi Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    That's one of the little problems I have with V: They don't tell you any of this stuff anywhere. Sure, if you've been playing previous Civ games, you can kind of just assume it. But if you're new to the game it's a setting that gives you no clue what it does. I guess tooltips for these were to hard to figure out how to code.

    On the flip side of this, someone who played a lot of Civ4 would assume that scouts get you bigger bonuses from goody huts; yet that's now how it works now.
     
  12. sebasm

    sebasm Comfortably Numb

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    Wouldn't an older world provide more hills and mountains as it would give them more time to get formed?
     
  13. spider1

    spider1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Somewhere, in some Civ manual or game, the explination for older worlds having less mountains and hills is over time the geologic processes have worn them down. Not that that is true mind you, it's just what I've read. In fact, any world with active plate tectonics such as the Earth will always have mountains and hills being created.
     
  14. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Deity

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,705
    What does it with the forest and jungle? If you pick like 3 billions years you have more forest and jungle to?
     
  15. KaiserKevin

    KaiserKevin Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Picking the 'wet' option gives more jungles, marshes, and forest (rivers too I think)
    'Arid' gives more plains and deserts
     
  16. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    Actually, it's correct. Planets are more tectonically active (forming mountains) when they're younger, and the mountains tend to erode over time.
     
  17. Becomedeath

    Becomedeath The Destroyer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    That's only theory to be fair, plate tectonics as we have it on Earth is very rare and has never been observed elsewhere in the solar system at the level we have it. Mars and Venus have virtually no tectonic movement for example.

    However, we're talking about features that don't actually need billions of years as the options suggest.

    A monolithic mountain range in 15 million years? I'll take one to go please!

    http://www.nytimes.com/1987/03/12/u...n-andes-show-how-mountains-rose-from-sea.html
     
  18. Furycrab

    Furycrab King

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    914
    This is pretty what is is/has been in most Civ games.

    New mountains do form with time, however erosion plays a bigger factor. So the older the planet, you'll end up with fewer hills, but more discrete mountain ranges surrounded by relatively flat plains and valleys.

    On a side note, playing Incans on a 3billion planet is fairly OP. :p
     
  19. Lose

    Lose King

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    how come mt everest is growing taller every year then?
     
  20. 19Mellon73

    19Mellon73 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    OS
    Because the indian subcontinent is still pushing into Asia. ;)
     

Share This Page