World domination, is it possible?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by m35, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. m35

    m35 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I'm playing on monarch difficulty level and I always try to go for full domination, wiping out every other civ. I haven't been very successful, at most I've taken out 3 civs and then my empire begins to collapse and the conquered civilizations declare independence. I once played as russia and had germany come back to life 3 separate times, one time they declared independence one turn after I had just defeated them!

    Has anyone actually been able to conquer all the other civs (I'm interested in detailed stories)? I'm beginning to think that with the negative stability from expanding beyond the historic borders makes this virtually impossible.

    Are there any mods that would make world domination a realistic goal? Maybe something that reduces the negative stability from over expansion beyond historical boundaries? I don't mind too much if this means the game doesn't follow as closely with history...

    Thanks
     
  2. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
  3. m35

    m35 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Wow! You've got quite the list of accomplishments. Thanks a bunch for posting those links, plenty of reading material to keep me busy.

    The only thing is that your username contradicts your playing style :lol:
     
  4. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Bear in mind that most of these were done before Rhye "corrected" the tricks I used (e.g. squatting, multiple Olympic Parks) but also before he gave some stability points to building Intelligence Agencies and Security Bureaus. So it's probably hard but still doable for the ones I and blizzrd did.
     
  5. m35

    m35 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Do you know if there is any way to easily disable civs from re-spawning? I don't mind too much if individual cities declare independence but to me having a civ respawn and take all their old cities plus possibly some of the cities you founded on their territory is a little excessive.

    thanks again
     
  6. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Don't learn Nationalism. I believe that respawns will only occur after some nation has learnt Nationalism.
     
  7. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    We know. I think it is called "irony".
     
  8. m35

    m35 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I would have never guessed!
     
  9. Zagoroth

    Zagoroth Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    552
    I think it would be ironic... if we were all made of iron.

    Ten points for whoever gets the reference...
     
  10. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    How about this?

    Spoiler :
    There's a joke about the definition of irony in Red Vs Blue. After it becomes clear the two teams are in an Enemy Mine situation, having to defeat an evil AI who took control of the teams' (yes, both of them) pacifistic doctor:
    Grif: So now we have to work together; how ironic.
    Simmons: That's not ironic; ironic would be it we had to work together to hurt each other.
    Sarge: I think it would be ironic if instead of bullets our guns shot a magical substance which heals all wounds.
    Caboose: I think it would be ironic if we were all made of iron.
    [Time Skip]
    Church: Okay. We all agree that while the current situation is not totally ironic, the fact that we now have to work together is odd in an unexpected way that defies our normal circumstances.
     
  11. Zagoroth

    Zagoroth Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    552
    Best. Web Series. Ever.
     
  12. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    You might not like this, but if you "disable" stability (by having it set to 'Solid' for every civ then you will never get respawns. Also, no civs will ever collapse, either.

    It can lead to quite interesting situations, such as if you decide to play as Germany and take over all of Europe - all the Europeans will relocate somewhere else :p
     
  13. laxpimpj

    laxpimpj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    and how would one do that?
     
  14. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    You could always search this forum for "turn off stability" and see what you find?

    I did and I found this thread.

    You could easily have done the same? Just a thought.
     
  15. laxpimpj

    laxpimpj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    I have read that thread before. The solution provided does not work. Civs respawn.
    But thanks for the smug reply.
     
  16. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    You're welcome. :love:
     

Share This Page