1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

World War 2 -Global Conflict

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Scenarios' started by trinder1, Aug 24, 2006.

  1. trinder1

    trinder1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    World War 2 the Global conflict

    *******Now Warlords compatible*******
    Sept 1939 Hitler has commenced his Blitzkreig across Europe-
    France,Norway,Greece,Poland and the British Empire must amass enough
    resources to stop Germany from conquering Europe. Russia and the
    United States are not at War with the Axis forces as they joined the
    war in 1941. Japan is forging an Empire in the pacific and has conquered
    parts of the Chinese mainland.

    These are the participants
    Argentina
    Sweden
    China
    Greece
    Italy
    Portugal
    Japan
    Germany
    Norway
    France
    Ireland
    Spain
    Russia
    Poland
    Brazil
    Mexico
    United States
    Britain -Australia,New Zealand,India,Canada,South Africa -(British Empire)





    as many Scenarios would only potray certain theatres like Europe
    or the Pacific. Until I found a Scenario that Simulated the entire
    World. I really enjoyed playing this scenario I decided to recreate
    this scenario with the Help of wikipedia and many hours Study.
    This is the updated version of my Beta WW2 scenario. I have also
    Included new leaders like Stalin and Churchill for warlords and Degaulle
    for Beyond the Sword. The best version to play is using the Max Riga Mod
    its evolves into the cold war nicely after WW2.

    Vanilla Civilization - View attachment ww2-v1.3.2.zip
    Warlords Civilization View attachment ww2-v1.3.zip
    Beyond Sword Civilization View attachment ww2-v1.6.zip
    Max Riga Mod View attachment wwII1MR.zip
     
  2. MaxRiga

    MaxRiga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    Riga/Montreal
    uhh .. i'd love to play it on my mod ;) looks very good!
     
  3. trinder1

    trinder1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    I found that playing as the United States It was best to wait until 1941 before joining the War. This allowed me to aquire enough resources to Build the 8th Army Airforce that I based in London so I could bomb Germany. Once I had depleted the German defences I moved in Large divisions of Tanks across europe. Whilst I was invading Europe I based another Bomber wing in the Philipines and Bombed the Japanese mainland starving Japan of resources so they could not attack the USA on my western seaborder.

    This is my advance across europe.
    Once I had defeated Hitler my Manhattan project was complete allowing me
    to Attack the Japanese with Nuclear weapons. I found the best tactics to use were exactly as the Allied commanders decided on historically.
     
  4. Duckmouf

    Duckmouf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Excellent scenario! This is by far the best WW2 scenario. Ive played a few other scenarios and this is the most accurate and really captures the true events of what happened in the war. This Scenario is excellent.
     
  5. Boom22

    Boom22 I kill VIRTUAL Spanish!

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Ponoka,Alberta,Canada
    I'm just wondering if you used their flags fom WWII? Only one problem Canada should be playable. We helped ALOT Navy and Man wise. Great Mod though.
     
  6. trinder1

    trinder1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    I would have placed Canada as its own nation as Britain probably would have been defeated without Canada's help but in all reality Australia,New Zealand and Canada's resources were all used in the defense of Mother England. If I had made the Anzacs and Canada seperate nations the British wouldn't have been able to defend Britain. In the 1940's the British commonwealth was in decline but for the sake of the Scenario and the game engine I have made Canada part of the British empire.
     
  7. trinder1

    trinder1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    The German panzer divisions attacked France I had some troops on the European mainland so I attempted to secure the French city of Bordeaux. Then I moved some Armoured divisions from England over the Channel to Bordeaux. This avoided the Allies loosing a foothold on the European continent and another Dunkirk style evacuation. Then I used the RAF to attack the German Navy that was in the English Channel. Once the British Coastline was secure I sailed the Royal Navy over to Halifax Canada where I had gathered the entire Canadian Army . I then sailed them back to Bordeaux and prepared to Liberate Paris. I managed to Liberate Paris and return control back to the French. At the moment I am about to attack Hamburg but I might run out of steam before I can advance any further. The problem with the The German Army is they need to secure a supply of Oil so they can consolidate their position. I have managed to convince Stalin to go to War with Hitler but Im still having trouble convincing Roosevelt that going to War is in the interests of the American people.

    On the other side of the World the Japanese are surveying Australia and New Zealand as the future assets of the Japanese Empire. So I have sent down 2 destroyers to escort the ANZACS to north Africa and prepare for an Invasion of Italy. I can liberate Australia and NZ back later from the Japanese once I have defeated Hitler. Im sure the ANZAC soldiers won't mind coming back home after the Japanese Army has raped and pillaged their homeland. I have moved several Indian infantry battalions over to Hong Kong but the British Far East assests are under threat unless I can convince United States to join the war.
     
  8. Red Door

    Red Door Man of Mayhem

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    USA #1
    Max, not everybody wants to use your mod for their scenario, stop telling people to use it. :rolleyes:
     
  9. xxJFKxx

    xxJFKxx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Germany
    for the glory of germany i invated france, it was about time to take revenge for the bad treatment and the land loses after world war I. england is a taff cookie, i was quiet sure they would make peace after i took down france, poland, greece and norway in just one and a half years. instead of wasting resources by invading england i just secured my citys in europe with two machine gun divisions plus a fighter to keep the royal air force busy. england did not excepted me attacking them in near east, i went true turkey and their bad defended citys fell easyly, egypt i gave to the italians to prepare them for the african battle, hopefully they will manage that. japan needed my support, resources are rare and i got two oil fields now. well, russia ... big russia or invading england? i am not sure yet ...

    -------

    scenario is great, its great fun even without a mod behind. i agree with max that his mod is perfect for such scenarios but its also fun without. please give germany one more bomber and one more fighter, its quiet hard to keep england busy (even if you just defend) and its impossible to build fighters. but in generall the balance is great.

    good work, thank you!
     
  10. Narn

    Narn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    212
    nice mod, personally I would prefer it if it was a maxriga mod. I'd love to see a maxriga mod on an earth model this size
     
  11. MaxRiga

    MaxRiga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    Riga/Montreal
    i haven't ... read CAREFULLY ;)

    to Narn

    ye, same to me ;) i'm working on my 2001 during my little free time but i'd love to play big maps :))
     
  12. trinder1

    trinder1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    I totally concur with you that the Luftwaffe needed to be larger I added a Bomber and also 2 fighters. For example the Battle of Britain the Luftwaffe had twice as many Aircraft as what the RAF had. This was an excellent suggestion so I have adjusted the Scenario as I over looked the Luftwaffe in designing this scenario. I like how you managed to secure 2 oil fields this is what Hitler historically should have done instead of invading Russia. Really good Idea giving an Oil supply to Japan that will allow them to consolidate their position in the Pacific maybe Hitler should have considered this tactic also. I have updated the scenario with your suggestions and feedback like yours is excellent it only improves the Realism of the scenario.

    Download- View attachment ww2-v0.7.zip
     
  13. trinder1

    trinder1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    In regards to using the Max Riga mod this is an excellent mod and I would love to see it being used on the WW2 Scenario also. It would help improve the realism of the entire scenario -the only problem being is Ive spent 3 months making this scenario and I have other commitments. But I am more than happy to work with someone else to make this scenario compatible with Max Riga mod. The Max Riga mod adds more realism to the World War 2 units.
     
  14. MaxRiga

    MaxRiga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    Riga/Montreal
    thank u, glad u like my mod!
    in fact it's very easy to make ur scenario for my mod ;) and you DO NOT NEED to do it ONLY for my mod. All u have to do is just finish ur scenario ( i see u've already made beta 7 , so as keep working on it ) and release it here. for my mod u simply need to delite all units after, save in worldbuilder as another scenario name, launch my mod and place new units ( just don't forget to place military schools in right cities and add units technologies ) ;) that's it :))))
    don't be hesitate to pm me if u need help or u want to add to my mod something to use in ur scenario ( like diplo pictures, for example ). i'm going to release 5.1 update for my mod and i can easily add the stuff for ur scenario ;)
     
  15. MrThing

    MrThing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Looks like a good scenario, I have been hoping that someone would make a global WWII scenario.

    How do you handel things like Russia's involvement in the war? Will Germany want to attack Russia on its own? Will Russia eventually attack if Germany does not?
     
  16. trinder1

    trinder1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    Good question I was unable to find a script that made the AI declare war on certain dates eg -1941 December Japan has 3 Carrier groups near Honolulu and start airstrikes. The difference with this scenario is that the Axis forces can avoid making uniformed tactical blunders like Hitler Invading Russia. In Sept1939 Russia and Germany were both invading Poland so I have Russia and Germany at war with Poland. If playing as an Allied nation it is possible to convince the United States and Russia to join the war against Germany. To make the scenario historically accurate I would need some scripts that made a world leader declare war on a certain date and several units magically appear at certain grids. One advantage of not having the Historical events it opens up a what if -Would Britain be speaking German today if Hitler hadn't of made a suprise attack on Russia or would Australians speak Japanese today if Pearl Harbour was not Attacked. These 2 decisions were Tactical Blunders and really misguided.
     
  17. REDY

    REDY Duty Caller

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Praha
    Civ4 scripts are not too easy implented like in Hearts of Iron2...If someone will find answer I will be happy too..
     
  18. RameNoodle

    RameNoodle ND Number 1!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    Bears Country (Illinois)
    Any chance this gets made for warlords, and maybe implemented into a scenario? That would be awesome.
     
  19. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    looks very promising :goodjob:
     
  20. Boom22

    Boom22 I kill VIRTUAL Spanish!

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Ponoka,Alberta,Canada
    I'm haveing problems installing:(
     

Share This Page