Worldbuilder broken

klazer

Chieftain
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
17
Upon starting worldbuilder after the June patch:

#"unknown argument type in generate map"
"The message GenerateMap cannot be used until the errors are resolved"
"unknown argument type in scatter resources"
"The message scatter resources cannot be used until the errors are resolved"
"unknown argument type in scatter goodies"
"The message scatter goodies cannot be used until the errors are resolved"

I can open existing maps and edit them, provided I don't try and use scatter resources/goodies commands. But you can't make a totally new random map because the generation command is broken. You can make a new map manually, but it is literally that - manual everything (land mass/types, resource placement/type/amounts, ect).
 

dshirk

Firaxian
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
879
We're looking at this now, and should have it resolved shortly. Thanks!
 

Megestos

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 29, 2011
Messages
2
Hello everyone,
I just tried to run the Civilization 5 SdK World Builder for the first time since the last update.
When I opened it, i recieved six Error Messages in a Row:

Unknown argument type "UnkownType" [sic!] in message "GenerateMap"
The message GenerateMap can not be used unit [sic!] the errors are resolved
Unknown argument type "UnkownType" in message "ScatterResources"
The message ScatterResources can not be used unit the errors are resolved
Unknown argument type "UnkownType" in message "Scatter Goodies"
The message Scatter Goodies can not be used unit the errors are resolved

After that, the World Builder starts, I can open existing maps, but I cannot
randomly generate new ones. When I try to generate a map, I get this error Message:


Note:
Failed to send GenerateMap:
Message type "GenerateMap" was not found.

Exception: System.Exception
Source: NexusConnection
Thread: Main Thread
Description: Message type "GenerateMap" was not found.

Stack Trace:
bei Firaxis.Nexus.Client.SendMessage(String sMessageName, Object[] args)


I tried uninstalling and re-installing, but it didn't help.
Maybe someone knows what to do?

-Megestos
 

Larsenex

King
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
771
Location
Ventura CA
Is this normal? I uninstalled from steam and re-installed it and I get 'map maker not found' message and I am unable to use the editing tool. Do I need to updated it somehow or will it get fixed at a later date?
 

GfxJG

Warlord
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
135
Location
Denmark
Whenever I start it up, it says "Unknown arguement type "Unknown arguement" in message "GenerateMap"". It also says the same for ScatterResources and ScatterGoodies.

Anybody know why and how to fix it? I have tried reinstalling the SDK, didn't help.
 

1jax15

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
16
Same... very disappointing, I love making maps just as much as playing Civ 5.
 

MisterBarca

Prince
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
536
A question:

Does this affect Fire Tuner at all? I want to be able to change some settings and experiment during my 1st game (I just bought it tonight).
 

jlpurvis2001

Chieftain
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
28
Location
Indianapolis, IN
When I first load the SDK and run the world builder, I get several errors, then I start a new map, click the "generate with..." button and get another error with the following details.

Application: World Builder
User: Unkown (Not an in-house user.)
Time: Friday 7/1/2011 6:06:10 AM

Runtime: 32 bit
OS: Windows 2008 (Service Pack 1)
Machine: LIFEOFMESSIAH

Note:
Failed to send GenerateMap:
Message type "GenerateMap" was not found.

Exception: System.Exception
Source: NexusConnection
Thread: Main Thread
Description: Message type "GenerateMap" was not found.

Stack Trace:
at Firaxis.Nexus.Client.SendMessage(String sMessageName, Object[] args)


I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the SDK with no luck. I run Windows 7 64-bit on a Core 2 Duo E7500 4GB of RAM. I have attached pictures of the errors I receive.
 

Attachments

  • error 1.png
    error 1.png
    21.1 KB · Views: 473
  • error 2.png
    error 2.png
    70.9 KB · Views: 372
  • error 3.png
    error 3.png
    21.9 KB · Views: 337
  • error 4.png
    error 4.png
    20.6 KB · Views: 353
  • error 5.png
    error 5.png
    19.5 KB · Views: 342
  • error 6.png
    error 6.png
    20.3 KB · Views: 299
  • error 7.png
    error 7.png
    27.2 KB · Views: 332

Larsenex

King
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
771
Location
Ventura CA
Do we have any kind of ETA on when we can get a hotfix for this? I really enjoy building custom maps and runing my own senarios...
 

lisasmom

Chieftain
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
7
I'm having the same issue with the same error codes. Evidently, the latest patch caused problems with the World Builder. It would be nice if they fixed it. The problem has been reported on numerous sites. You might try writing to 2K support with the issue.
 
Top Bottom