1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Worst start ever?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Nailz, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. Nailz

    Nailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    the Netherlands


    Would you play on?
     
  2. AA-battery

    AA-battery Going and going...

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    A local lethal injection specialist
  3. Rassnie

    Rassnie Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Manistee, Michigan
    Try it and tell us how it goes. You need 6 workers stat.

    I'd play it if I had set out with the goal of playing a bad start. That might be fun. Could you post the world seed?
     
  4. AA-battery

    AA-battery Going and going...

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    A local lethal injection specialist
    What is the difficulty level?
     
  5. MSTK

    MSTK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
  6. Keirador

    Keirador Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,078
    Two fish, a luxury, gold, and close-by rivers and bonus resources? Certainly not an awesome start, but I see a worse start than that, for either myself or a neighbor, every few games.
     
  7. morchuflex

    morchuflex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,385
    Location:
    Paris
    Nailz, this is not a bad start. Just found 2 or 3 cities on the obvious sites, then produce nothing but workers. Dozens of them! You'll develop very slowly at first, but you'll catch up easily when you have a 95% grassland territory with rivers...
    However, this is only true if you have no neighbours. If you have neighbours, you'll be an easy prey. Better start over.
     
  8. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    Not too bad, but bad initial management. you have no mp in the city (baaad!) - build a warrior asap, then a settler, then a worker, then an harbor, then a warrior as second mp. Now you should go up in population and produce other settlers and/or workers.
    You may need to move your capital once you've built a few cities on the landmass.

    Bad luck with barbs...
     
  9. Offa

    Offa Bretwalda

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,255
    Location:
    Mercia
    Now that really is a start. At least you have a bonus grassland. Nice touch having an expansionist Civ.

    What level was it?

    Why don't you post the save.
     
  10. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    Go to the SG forum and look at DocT3. ;)

    THEN, you'll see how lucky you are. :D
     
  11. Doc Tsiolkovski

    Doc Tsiolkovski Deity

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,032
    Location:
    Köln, Cologne, Colonia. Finally.
    Nailz, this is far from being really ugly...

    That is ugly:




    MSTK: Is that a random map? So far, I couldn't get hold of a reproducable 1 tile island ;).

    More nice Starts...
     
  12. morchuflex

    morchuflex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,385
    Location:
    Paris
    MSTK, that's a challenging map...
    BTW, which graphic mod is this? Watercolor? It looks good... Would you have another screenie with more details? I may consider downloading it.
     
  13. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    @DocT: The only grassland in range can't be used by any city! :lol:
     
  14. MSTK

    MSTK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    Watercolor is probably the best terrain mod there is...in my opinion, of course. Right now I'm on a different computer, but you can see some of my maps from the demogame.
     
  15. oagersnap

    oagersnap Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,415
    Location:
    South Schleswig
    @ Nailz: Why do you have "Bonus" Desert? S and SSW of Constantinople?
     
  16. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    I don't think that is desert bonus. He just turned on the "show food and shields on map".
     
  17. Abaddon

    Abaddon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,187
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    where is the watercolor downloadable?
     
  18. stocean

    stocean Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1


    Settler : What the hell?

    Scout : You can have fun with those monkeys and elephants aint ya.
     
  19. JanSobieski

    JanSobieski Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Wow, I've never seen all these terrain mods, or worker actions on that one map with all the moutains. I really need to get some expansions to CivIII, I've had Civilization III version 1.07 for over three years now.
     
  20. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    @Stocean:

    a) Welcome to CFC! [party]
    b) I suggest the settler to one northwest of where he is now. He can pump out ten-turn workers while making some decent money. Use those workers to chop that ugly stuff and you have yourself a world-class start!
     

Share This Page