1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Worst Starting Point

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Synsensa, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. Synsensa

    Synsensa Warlord Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,165
    Now this is what I call a bad start to a game:



    I am, however, continuing on with this game.

    Some info:

    My island had nothing! All it had were 2 spices. The other islands I went on (to the right), NADA, ZILCH. Then I sacrificed some galleys, two made it through the ocean tiles, and I started exploring the coast. Then, when I got Navigation, I decided to mass settle on the left. I did so, and I got Saltpeter, Iron, 2 gems, and horses because of it! Now is that luck or what...

    EDIT: I am the green.
     
  2. Mirc

    Mirc Not mIRC!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15,825
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, ->Germany, E.U.
    It does look like a pretty bad start location. :) But: if you want to discuss bad starts, there are numerous threads in the General Discussion forums; if you want some advice, you should have attached a save. ;)

    Edit: That screen appears only when you retire from the game... :mischief:
     
  3. Synsensa

    Synsensa Warlord Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,165
    No, no advice, I was deciding between posting this in strategy and general discussion, and decided on this forum.
     
  4. Mirc

    Mirc Not mIRC!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15,825
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, ->Germany, E.U.
    Try looking in the General Discussions, there are a lot of threads about good/bad starting locations... :)
     
  5. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    The only comment I'd make from looking at that shot is it appears that you were playing against only 1 opponent. The fewer civs in a game, the fewer resources you'll find on a map.

    If that's a tiny map, the default number of civs (4) would give you twice as many resources. If it's small (I can't really tell), the default would be 6 civs and have 3 times as many resources.

    Anyway, that would explain why you had nothing but the 2 spices. :mischief:
     
  6. Synsensa

    Synsensa Warlord Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,165
    Huge map.

    No, their continent had all the resources.
     
  7. MAS

    MAS Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,080
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The resources are distributed randomly, on average, they are distributed evenly. But only on average.

    (except lux resources, they are distributed in clumps of the same resource to allow different civ to monopolize on type of lux, so that trade opportunities exist, but these clumps are then distributed more or less evenly)

    The fewer the resources, the bigger the chance that all of them will be together on one place.
    The more resources, the smaller the chance that all of them are on one place.

    The amount of resources is by a large factor determined by the amount of civ.
    If you play with only very few other civ, there will be very few of each resource type. So there is a big chance that they will all be together. So there will be a bigger chance there will be none near your start.
     
  8. Parivill

    Parivill Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    In My Head
    On the plus side it'll be harder to kill you off if you get in a war with the blue, which one would asume is invitable
     
  9. eldar

    eldar ChiefTank

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    I hope you at least jumped/moved your palace to the middle of the largest of the islands you colonized!
     
  10. Synsensa

    Synsensa Warlord Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,165
    Yep, I did.
     
  11. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    Why did you chose only 1 enemy civ. I used to only pick 1 enemy but then I realised how much funner it is. Military alliances and huge naval wars (I like That!)
     
  12. Synsensa

    Synsensa Warlord Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,165
    It was a "quick" game, so much for that eh.
     
  13. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    Oh, I see. Well bad luck, It does happen occasionally :).
     

Share This Page