1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Would this fix the chop/lag in games?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by TheMarshmallowBear, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,727
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    My PC isn't the best, meaning it takes more time to load map/turns etc.

    So I figured... anybody thinks the engine should handle "City States" diffrently? I'm pretty sure they are currently handled as individual nation instead of 1, which would undoubtely solve the waiting turn, because the computer potentially has to calculate 35 diffrent nations instead of only 12. on a Huge map with 12 civs and 24 city states.

    Am I right or wrong in this?
     
  2. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,500
    City States don't have 'national interests' so, no it wouldn't help.

    Primarily because there's still (potentially) 24 cities to manage/build and 24 possible small armies to maintain. A single large civ can easily match that.

    If you watch the AI turns long enough, you'll see that the City State period of the AI turn is shorter than most major civ AIs (Ie, all CSs complete together faster than one AI).
     
  3. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,727
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    But wouldn't one nation manage 24 cities be better than 24 nations manage 1 city?
     
  4. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,500
    no. Especially when it would give itself conflicting information about what to do with units, including killing it's own.
     
  5. theadder

    theadder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Addoria
    It isn't performing some sort of calculation to determine the goals and direction of the city states; they are just there with a few odd units.

    Also, as MadDjinn points out, they would need to be able to attack themselves!
     
  6. Callonia

    Callonia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,175
    It has happened, there was quite a few city state civil wars occuring with city state winning or city state's troopers winning. Screenshots was posted although i forgot where. Hopefully someone else will be able to link you to them.

    I've seen like a couple of civil wars myself, they was quite amusing.
     
  7. theadder

    theadder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Addoria
    Yes; I've seen them fighting each other.

    I think that you may have misunderstood what I had said.

    We're pointing out that they can't function as one giant entity.
     
  8. Babri

    Babri Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,441
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Yes they really need to fix performance, it is still quite slow mid in the game. My PC specs are quite good :-
    i3 2.93Ghz, 8GB RAM, ATI 6850. Now this should be enough to run Large & Huge map smoothly with small turn times but that is not the case unfortunately. :-(
     
  9. theadder

    theadder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Addoria
    I have a 2500K, GTX 470 and 8GB of RAM and I generally do not play above the Standard map size setting, because the game starts to get choppy and slow.

    I'm really hoping for better performance; they have mentioned some things about multithreading and that sort of thing, so I am trying to be optimistic.
     
  10. strhopper

    strhopper Okie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I have a amd 965 at 3.8 GHz 8GB ram with 6870.

    I don't play any higher then a standard size map. Usually smaller. But I like to play small maps with more civs. Short turns and plenty of enemies
     

Share This Page