1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

WTF? Can't upgrade Fighters as Americans to F-15's?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by fluxcapacitor, Nov 8, 2001.

  1. fluxcapacitor

    fluxcapacitor Jedi

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Orange CA
    I am the Americans in current game, I just discovered Rocketry, I have all the resources except Uranium, and the game won't lemme upgrade any of my Fighters?! Is this a limit on CSU's? I Should be able to upgrade them F-15's, since for the Americans that replaces the Jet Fighter...
     
  2. Bugg

    Bugg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    florida
    You cannot upgrade regular units to their unique unit.:(
     
  3. fluxcapacitor

    fluxcapacitor Jedi

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Orange CA
    Yeah but the Americans aren't given the option to build regular Jet Fighter units. They should be at least given the option to build the corresponding regular unit then, if not also able to upgrade units to it, case in point my Fighters into Jet Fighters.
     
  4. knowltok

    knowltok Guest

    Methinks that may be a bug they need to fix. Can I assume that the problem runs through all of the unique units? Can the Romans not upgrade their warriors? For some nations this will be minor, but for others it could be substantial. If the French have no way to get their pikemen to riflemen because of musketeers, that is major.
     
  5. Pacific_Wing

    Pacific_Wing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    This is a bug; I hope. I was playing the Russians a few days back and I found it to be an awfull pain in the ass not being able to upgrade my Knights to Cossack units. Fortunately, I was at war with the French who were only slightly behind me in tech, so my knights didn’t last too long.

    The point remains: Fraxis, if you are reading this, fix it so you CAN upgrade to the corresponding unique units. It’s a pain in the ass having to churn out new units when the size of your army is already adequate for your needs and you can’t upgrade.

    Cheers,

    -Pacific_Wing
     
  6. Nero Would

    Nero Would Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You don't have the problem as Egypt, Greece, Babylon, Germany, Aztecs, Zululand or England because their special units replace units that you can't upgrade to. As far as I know, you have the problem with all other civs.

    I also noticed something strange when I checked the upgrade paths in the editor. Some special units upgrade to the unit that is two steps up the upgrade path rather than one step. Greek Hoplites and Zulu Impis replace Spearmen but upgrade to Musketmen instead of Pikemen. Egyptian War Chariots replace Chariots but upgrade to Knights instead of Horsemen. The other special units upgrade normally.
     
  7. jhigham

    jhigham Prognosticator of Despair

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Montana
    Hoplites don't upgrade to pikemen because they ARE pikemen: 1/3/1. I presume it is the same for the other special units.
     
  8. Nero Would

    Nero Would Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm sure you're right about the reasoning. The other special units I mentioned are not identical to the next unit on the upgrade path (Impi is 1/2/2 vs Pikeman 1/3/1 and War Chariot is wheeled vs Horseman which is not), but you still wouldn't get much benefit from the one step upgrade.
     
  9. knowltok

    knowltok Guest

    The cossack post got me thinking. Some units could should be able to upgrade, fighters to f-15s, but taking knights to cossacks is actually a stretch in a historical sense. Cossacks were historically a seperate people and culture. They served the Russians, but knights wouldn't have upgraded to these units.

    Extremely picky, and not on entirely firm ground, so feel free to dispute the claim.
     
  10. hoyatables

    hoyatables Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    humm... i was wondering why i couldnt upgrade my guys to muskteers but had no probelem bumping them to riflemen. pikemen, et al, can upgrade PAST musketeers but not TO musketeers if youre the Frogs. Capice?
     
  11. penvzila

    penvzila Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Messages:
    352
    The American F-15 replaces the JET FIGHTER, not the FIGHTER
     

Share This Page