1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

WW2 Global Gold

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Civinator, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male



    WW2 Global Gold is a graphical update of Rocoteh´s (and Meateater´s) famous WW2 scenario and a kind of saying thank you to Rocoteh for all his great work.
    I received the permission by Rocoteh for doing this update at the former SOC site and in this post you can read his comment about the update.
    Spoiler :



    There are only some very small changes in gameplay, one of them making Russia an own culture group, setting the British Empire and the US in the same culture group and setting the skip-first-turn-flag for all civs but Germany, so now Germany invades Poland and not the other way.

    Nothing was changed in the unit stats. Some abstract categories of naval units that were necessairy when that scenario was created, as many ships were not available as civ 3 units at that time, are now split up into the meanwhile available civ 3 units (per example the 1939 destroyer to several destroyers of different countries, but they all still have the same unit stats of the original 1939 destroyer).

    WW2 Global Gold replaces the old units with the new units of SOE, adds WW2 leaderheads to the scenario and tons of other graphical stuff of SOE and provides Rocoteh´s brilliant scenario with a civilopedia. This is a betatest version as there is still some work to do, especially with the civilopedia.


    Requirements:
    - Civilization 3: Conquests version 1.22 or Civilization 3: Complete
    - 2,25 GB disk space for the SOE Mainfile
    - 3,73 MB disk space for the additional WW2 Global Gold files


    Installation:




    As WW2 Global Gold is connected to the SOE files, it is necessairy to install the SOE-mainfile in the same folder of C3C as WW2 Global Gold (different to SOE it is not necessairy to run WW2 Global Gold with the No-raze-Patch).

    Edited May 29, 2019: That post will be rewritten and new download links will come later this year. The graphics will not be any longer connected to the SOE files but to an expanded new C3C mainfile coming with the next version of CCM2, allowing the easy update and addition of many unit graphics in this scenario.


    Credits

    Mod design:
    Rocoteh and Meateater
    The original WW2 Global scenario thread can be found here:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=107698
    Map: Aeldrik and CellKu
    Civilopedia:
    Blue Lion/Civinator and the Wikipedia
    Units:
    Wyrmshadow,
    Ares de Borg, BeBro, Delta Strife, Gary Childress, gwendoline,
    Orthanc, rhodie, Ripptide, tom2050, TopGun, vingrjoe, W.i.n.t.e.r., Wotan49
    Unitsounds:
    texastarheel7
    Leaderheads:
    ccm01, CivArmy s. 1994, jorde, fixes by Vuldacon
    Terrain:
    Ares de Borg, Racc00n
    Cities:
    Sn00py, Smiley, Blue Lion/Civinator
    Improvements, Wonders, Wonder Splashes and Flags:
    aaglo, Ares de Borg, BadKharma, Bjornlo, Grumbl, Harlan, Heretic_Cata, Lusikka755, mrtn, Plotinus, R8XFT, ronning, Rufus T. Firefly, Spincrus, SWalker, Ukas, Blue Lion / Civinator
    Civ 2 graphics (mainly used for unit32):
    BeBro, kobayashi, fairline, Curt Sibling and lots of unknown other artists

    If you find a piece of your work in the mod and you are not on the list, please let us know and we'll do our best to fix it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  2. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male
    WW2 Global Gold Leaderheads:




















     
    Last edited: May 28, 2019
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male
    The WW2 Global Gold Civilopedia:

    The civilopedia needs more additional work to bring it up to date.







    The second row of flags was copied into the image.











     
  4. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male
    Screenshots of WW2 Global Gold:














     
  5. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male












     
  6. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male






     
  7. smirnoff

    smirnoff Crusader

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    Canada
    Now this is something :)
     
  8. kadavrali

    kadavrali Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    it's looking amazing thank u civinator:)
     
  9. geminisama

    geminisama Resident Batman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    This looks spectacular, but I do have a question; what the HECK are those flat grey things in the France picture? I hate to nitpick on such an amazing update, but it's a huge eyesore imo.
     
  10. Wolfshade

    Wolfshade Little Winger

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    There were so many things and changes announced, so I can't miss to try it. Thank you, Civinator, for your great work! :)
     
  11. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  12. Sasebo

    Sasebo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Those "flat things" I assume are the graphics for the Maginot line Fortress units geminisama; at least, they are in the same positions where the fortresses are in earlier versions of the scenario, and I can't imagine what else they could be. What is that, a big tank trap? :lol:

    Hum, I have been playing this scenario just by coincidence lately. Now what do I do, start another game? ....oh well, if I must, I must. ;) It looks really good Civinator!
     
  13. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you all for your kind words :), so in this case for me it´s decisive, what Rocoteh thinks about it- and please don´t forget, the SOE files, WW2 Global Gold is connected to, are a team work.

    These "flat things" are not so flat as you think now. :D Sasebo, you are right, these "flat things" are heavy popup turrets, done by Wyrmshadow, and are part of the Maginot line.

     

    Attached Files:

  14. geminisama

    geminisama Resident Batman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Ahh, looks much better in action! I apologize if my post sounded a bit critical, I just wasn't sure what I was looking at. Hopefully I'll get a chance to try SOE and this scenario in the near future!
     
  15. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male
    Recon1591 set the units in SOE in a way, that SOE can be easily used as a gigantic construction set for WW2 scenarios. With a few mouseclicks new operable units can be added or existing units can be changed. All you must do to the biq in the editor is the following:

    1. A path in the Scenario Properties from the scenario (here WW2 Global Gold) to SOE:




    2. A "copy and paste"-job of the SOE pediaicons-entry and the SOE unit-icons number to the biq of that scenario:




    3. Most work could be to add or to change the civilopedia entry, but the changed or added unit is also operable without that entry.

    So if you, let´s say, don´t like the graphic of the heavy popup turret, you can change the look of the fortress unit in WW2 Global with some clicks to tons of other fortress units, that exist (with sounds) in the SOE file -or even to a heavy mg-unit.

    With this methode many existing elder WW2 scenarios can be easily upgraded to the new graphics and new WW2 scenarios can easily be created with minimal efforts. You only have to add to your scenario files what you want to change from SOE (p.e. sounds or some attack graphics for planes) or what doesn´t exist in SOE (p.e. in WW2 Global Gold city graphics with visible size 1 cities had to be added to the Ww2 Global Gold mainfile as in SOE the city graphics for size-1-cities are transparent).
     
  16. Haddu

    Haddu Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    check:
    FILE NOT FOND
    Art\Flics\Art\Flics\castilla_ind.flc

    Peru.
     
  17. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male
    This is an error. Here by mistake the path Art\Flics was copied twice to the leader entry. I will correct this immediately with a new biq. Haddu thank you very much for reporting this error. :)
     
  18. Haddu

    Haddu Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Still check:
    Art\Units\J041 Chi-Ha\AttackA.flc
    Art\Units\U071 Baltimore CA Class\Fidget.flc (INI)
     
  19. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,012
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you very much again for reporting these errors, Haddu. :) In both entries one letter is missing. This must be corrected manually until a new mainfile or a patch is comming out for fixing these errors. Current games can be continued when these errors are fixed manually (other than the error in the biq with the Peruan leaderhead).
     
  20. Nexxo

    Nexxo Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Congratulations for finishing this scenario.;)

    When I make scenario , I then put all unit to map and start game to see if game will start. If something with unit is wrong, the game will eject you out. Then you can repair what is wrong. That process work because when I was playing my own scenarios, I never have problems with units error.
     

Share This Page