1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

XBox One game crashes frequently

Discussion in 'Civ 6 - Consoles' started by Carazycool, Jun 6, 2020.

  1. Carazycool

    Carazycool Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    MA
    My game will frequently crash at seemingly random moments when playing on XBox One. Does anyone else have this problem? Is there anything that can be done to minimize it?

    Luckily I can reload a previous turn if I want to. But when it happens every 5-10 turns in the mid to late game, and it takes so long to reload a save and replay a turn... it definitely makes me much more likely to abandon a game.
     
  2. Mario HTTR

    Mario HTTR Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    i'm playing on xbox one x since release day... i can not recall having a crash yet.
     
    iamliberal likes this.
  3. neuteredDragon

    neuteredDragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    I am at a point in the game where I can't get by 2 full turns before it crashes. I am in late game...about 120 turns to the end. It is really take the life out of the game....
     
    Elefantsoverthealps likes this.
  4. crewealex

    crewealex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Exactly the same problem as the OP. Have been in touch with 2K several times but no change as yet.
    Hoping that the next patch will fix it. Well maybe!
     
  5. Carazycool

    Carazycool Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    MA
    I’ve found that the more trades I’m agreeing to, the more frequent the crashes.
     
    Elefantsoverthealps likes this.
  6. Latics

    Latics Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Am playing on Xbox Series X and am also crashing every game such that I can’t actually complete a game despite having spent in excess of £90 on it...

    saw that the most recent update claims to have fixed Xbox crashes however can confirm this isn’t the case as am still experiencing a crash every game even on standard map size. Have emailed 2k but am just getting the token ‘send a video of it crashing’ response, then after a couple of replies they stopped responding.
     
    Elefantsoverthealps likes this.
  7. Carazycool

    Carazycool Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    MA
    It’s frustrating for sure. Being able to reload at the beginning of turns is the best failsafe. But loading takes a long time. And later era turns (when the crashes happen frequently) take so fricking long. Replaying those turns is tedious.

    it also just ruins the flow when you’re constantly trying to remember things like “did I select that new policy before or after the most recent crash?”
     
  8. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    479
    It's exactly the same on the PS4 Pro here.
     
  9. Real_Chibot

    Real_Chibot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Try this: Go to downloadable content and disable the scout cat skin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2021
    crewealex likes this.
  10. aieeegrunt

    aieeegrunt King

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    958
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m on xbox one X

    Every time you play Civ when you are done fully exit out of it (save the game, exit to main menu, then quit the game) and load up something else (I do the youtube app because it’s fast) before turning your xbox off

    Or load something else up BEFORE playing Civ each time

    This has significantly reduced the number of crashes I get.

    Maybe there is some sort of cache ****ery going on that causes crashes, because loading something else up between play sessions of Civ would flush it
     
    iamliberal likes this.
  11. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    479
    This cannot be the case on PS4, mainly because there is no cache and all temp files get flushed automatically when you shut the console down (or so I am told by Sony, anyway)
    Not as yet checked the latest patch on the PS4 - possibly later today, definitely at some point over the weekend.

    EDIT.
    Just read the patch notes and there is absolutely no mention whatsoever on this being fixed, so still £90 in and still with an unplayable game past turn 200 or so.
    Way to go, Firaxis.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2021
  12. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    479
    Okay, yet another crash report filed at 2K.
    What is still seriously annoying is that under 'error CE-34878-0' (I do not know if this is the same crash number but will check) we read at the support site document for this:

    Clear your PS4's cache:
    Then, when you follow the link in the thread, we read the following gem:

    PLAYSTATION 4 AND PLAYSTATION 5
    The PlayStation 4 and 5 doesn't actually have a cache to clear.

    Groundhog Day isn't the right word - this is utterly going round and round in circles.
     
  13. aieeegrunt

    aieeegrunt King

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    958
    Gender:
    Male
    Bwa ha ha oh God somebody probably copy pasted the solution for xbox

    because all consoles are the same
     
  14. shapecharge

    shapecharge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Ohio
    I do not know the reason behind this, but maybe if it can help. When I log onto xbox and start a game I would always have my first crash about 60 turns in then crash every 10-20 turns after that, didn't matter map size or other parameters I would get crashes with tiny maps 2 players 3 city states. If I sign out of my profile and switch to my wife's profile/gamer tag works like a champ I can play larger maps with more civs have pandora going at the same time, and play over 250 turns straight so far no break without a crash, my wife played a game last week to the end with 3 crashes total. Which is what made me try her profile.
    Guess maybe something weird is happening with the main profiles when xbox boots up. But after I finish this game I am just going to make a 3rd profile on my xbox and just make that my civ playing profile......I don't know why and this doesn't make sense to me but I can play a game now 250 turns in without a crash.
     
    Kokolopo007 likes this.
  15. Kokolopo007

    Kokolopo007 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I only signed in, in this forum, to say 'thank You'!!!
    It worked fine for me as well.
    The bug, or whatever it is, happened for m since i buyed the Add-on Bundle. I thought it depends on the Add-on, but nothing was fixed when i reinstalled the game without the add-ons. I hoped that with any Patch the problem will fixed. I bought the new frontier pass, because i hoped that there is an extra update or something like this ....

    I quit playing one of my most favorite games. I play Civ since Civ 3 was released. And i love it. and now i can play again play it on XBox because of you!!! so thank you!!!!

    And nice greetings from Germany!

    Excuse me for my bad english
     
    aieeegrunt likes this.
  16. shapecharge

    shapecharge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Ohio
    Glad it helped, ever since I discovered this I have played multiple games on huge maps with max civs and city states, marathon speed and had little to no problems. I turn on my xbox it goes to my shapecharge profile, sign out and sign into my shapechargeciv profile play the game then sign out and go back to my shapecharge profile to do anything else or shut down. Don't know if all of that is nessaserry or the magic behind it but it works.

    So you're welcome from the United States and happy civing on xbox
     
  17. crewealex

    crewealex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    My games are still regularly crashing even though I've tried the above. The final patch has been
    and gone but still no effective fix.
    Is anyone else who plays xbox one still having problems or has the problem magically vanished?
     
  18. aieeegrunt

    aieeegrunt King

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    958
    Gender:
    Male
    What sized map do you normally use?
     
  19. crewealex

    crewealex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    I used to play with huge maps but now changed to large to see if that is any better. Sadly not.
    The game used to play fine until one particular update. It may have been Gaul and Byzantium
    but can't remember for certain. After the update the game just kept crashing and the further
    into the game, the more crashes.
     
  20. aieeegrunt

    aieeegrunt King

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    958
    Gender:
    Male
    I usually play with standard sized maps and get few crashes, so it may be a map size thing
     

Share This Page