XP Blue Screen of Death

mazra

Chieftain
Hi Everyone,

Is anyone getting a blue screen of death critical failure notice after playing Civ IV for a while. This has happened on both my laptop and on my desktop PC. I have never seen a blue screen of death in XP until now. I have been using XP machines for a couple of years now with some powerful applications. Obviously, there is some kind of "Major League" bug in Civ IV. BTW- My desktop has the recommended system requirements. My laptop has less memory and I was playing on that machine first when the problem occurred. I thought going to the more powerful desktop would eliviate the problem. But I had the exact same problem on the desktop.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Mazra

mazra,

I don't BSOD but my computer reboots.. In the system event viewer it looks like it is stop code 0x1000007F. Are you getting the same thing?

Neil81 said:
mazra,

I don't BSOD but my computer reboots.. In the system event viewer it looks like it is stop code 0x1000007F. Are you getting the same thing?

Hey, where is this System Event Viewer? My system simply reboots, as well.

EDITED: Well, it looks like I get that same error number, I think... here she be..

Error code 1000007f, parameter1 00000008, parameter2 f7842d70, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 00000000.

By default Win XP is set up to reboot without showing the BSOD.

Pretty stupid if you actually want to figure out why there are problems.

Go to System Properties and then Advanced and then Settings under Startup and Recovery.
Uncheck Automatically Reboot on error.

Then you will see the error...won't solve it...but at least you will know the error and the file causing it.

Neil81 said:
mazra,

Hi Neil81,