YA56T

tetley

Head tea leaf
YA56T = Yet Another Civ5/Civ6 Thread

You have probably heard my question before: is it time to go to Civ6? Or stick with Civ5? I played the Civ6 demo and tried looking for other threads, but neither I think likely reflect the latest-and-greatest patches and DLC.

I thought the Civ6 demo was fun, but not as fun as Civ5 when that started. But then, I've logged 1500 hours of Civ5 and am kind of played out. I'm not seeing any good Steam sales of Civ6 bundles yet (when I started playing Civ4, Steam was practically giving it away for free).

Hard to answer such a general question about what individuals enjoy. However, I have the impression that people who loved Civ 4 considers that Civ 6 is superior to Civ 5. On the other hand, the ones who loved Civ 5 still think Civ 6 is a bit mediocre.

Civ 5 is still more polished than Civ 6. I really didnt like the mechanics in Civ 5 at all so the switch to Civ 6 was a non issue.

Civ 5 is the first game of the series I played (except Civ 2 long long ago) but I feel very confident in saying both Civ 4 and Civ 6 are superior to Civ 5. There are simply far fewer annoying mechanics like global happiness, scaling tech/culture costs, things like that.

Reactions: Rup
I enjoyed Civ IV, I loved Civ V but I much prefer Civ VI. How should I know what you would prefer though? Watch some gameplay clips and decide for yourself, nobody will be able to do it better.

Reactions: Rup
For me Civilization 6 with R&F is far better than Civilization 5 complete edition in every way other than the AI.
Civilization 4 is also good and might be arguably the best of these 3 games with the right mods.
I freaking love districts in Civilization VI.
I love Loyalty mechanics in Rise and Fall.
I love governments.

I don't know how CIV V received better rating than Civilization 6 at launch, how can someone release a game about historical Civilizations without religions is beyond me lol