1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

YASOB (Yet another set of borders)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Graphics Modpacks' started by bluebox, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. bluebox

    bluebox King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Germany
    To me, borders in Civ III look somewhat boring. Moreover, they seem to collide with other overlay elements, e.g. jungle, so sometimes I cannot figure out where the heck my territory ends and the foreign one begins.

    Several attempts have been already untertaken by modders to improve borders. Well, here's yet another set of borders, it's my personal solution: I 'simply' doubled the borderlines so you perceive them as stripes of chessboard pattern (it was not so simple with the hill slopes).



    I figured it looks nice in-game, so I post the 'territory.pcx' file here. Installation: If you like them, too, and you want to see th3em in your games, please put it in the '\civ3\art\terrain' folder, the new borders will appear in all installed versions of CivIII. Back-up the original file in case you get bored again. :)

    Good or bad, please don't hesitate to tell me what you think.

    Final Version: Territory.pcx, time stamp 11/26/2004, has been removed after 129 downloads. Thanks for your interest! I hope you enjoy them! :)

    The new attachment contains a slightly edited version. The hill slopes weren't the best so I improved them a bit. I'm completely satisfied with my borders set now and this will be that last and final version.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RedAlert

    RedAlert Love one another

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,093
    Location:
    Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
    I like it :) Nice, thick borders that don't disappear in jungles.
    Thanks, and good job.
     
  3. Hrafnkell

    Hrafnkell Alheithinn

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    The Beltway
    Looks like a nice solution...sometimes simple is the best and that is certainly a simple solution. Surprised nobody thought of it before. Thank you - definitely going to try it out.
     
  4. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,641
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    That has to be the best border design to date: Elegant and fully functional, yet simple. I'll be sdding these to the Final Fantasy mod post haste.
     
  5. Eva

    Eva Peaceful Annihilation

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Thirdspace
    Hi...
    Thanks for the borders ....
    I'm using these permantly now as they are easy to see and look great.
    Much appreciated.
     
  6. MaisseArsouye

    MaisseArsouye gentil petit nuton

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Djiblou
    I think these are the best borders so far ! Simple, clear, don't disappear in forests and jungle,... Very good job :goodjob:
     
  7. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  8. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Looks good, I'll give 'em a go :goodjob: !
     
  9. Corey

    Corey Djeneral

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Serbia,Belgrade
    It seems like there is a bug near delta! :mischief:
     
  10. bluebox

    bluebox King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks for your appreciation! I'm happy there is so much positive feedback. And even from the modding pro's in this forum. :blush: :)

    @Corey: the river delta that is placed 'over' the border, is it that what you mean? Yes, indeed it's a kind of 'bug' or graphic glitch, but not one I can do anything about. Sorry.
    There are even more glitches: NE of the spices, the greek border is covered by the forest. The advantage of broader borders mainly is: if pieces of the border are hidden, you can discover the neighbouring border tiles more easily :D . Or have a look at that mountain tile in the E part of the Greek territory: That piece of border should be 'behind' the mountain top.
    Beside of that, you never get the corners right. They either overlap or there remains a gap. These are typical problems with the Civ3 borders.

    Nevertheless: thanks again! Keep on posting! :)
     
  11. hIdDeN_eViL

    hIdDeN_eViL {кοтоя дѕѕαѕѕїй}²

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    sydney,down under
    yeh
    no more borders hidden in jungles
     
  12. Corey

    Corey Djeneral

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Serbia,Belgrade
    Yes,I like it to.
     
  13. citizen001

    citizen001 Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Australia
    Why do they stilll disappear in mountains?
     
  14. Corey

    Corey Djeneral

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Serbia,Belgrade
    Bug in Civ.
     
  15. bluebox

    bluebox King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Germany
    I found out that my YASOB borders are quite close to a borders set during the development of civ3. Here's a screenshot from August, 3rd, 2001 on gamespot. It is supposed to show the diplo dialog, but look at the borders in the background. :)
     
  16. bluebox

    bluebox King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi again! :bump:

    I posted a final version of my borders set in the first post. The hill slopes were finalized by me. Personally I think it's perfect now. :lol:
     

Share This Page