1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Ye Olde CivNet "dropper" tactic

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Kuhal, Nov 24, 2002.

1. Kuhal

Kuhal Chieftain

I'm new to diety level and I've only been partially successful on one occasion but now I read these forums I see that I should not have resigned on the many occasions where I did so due to by technological failings...

Has anybody used the following tactic successfully in diety level? There are probably many names for it but the first time (and the last I might add) I needed it was in the CivNet days of old.

The tactic is simple:
    Ideally, start with an Industrious race

Each settlement builds a warrior (or two depending upon it's food income) and then a settler. Occassionally a city may build a worker or attacking unit, but it must strive to build the settler as fast as possible.

Each new city is placed exactly 3 tiles from any other city so they have a clear 9 tile area that they can call home.

Ideally reserve good city building tiles with a warrior or spearman and build from chokepoints or borders back to the core.

Build roads as you go connecting all cities in a web like fashion

When you are extorted for money give it of course. No wars allowed until you can 20 or so cities and you start to switch the central 7 or 8 cities to military production.

Because your cities are all within 3 of at least 2 others and connected by roads, defense is easier. As you produce units, push them to the frontier and reserve more building sport.